Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
OH YUM! I wondered about this at first, but decided to try it out to take to a Tripoly party. I'm so glad I did! I scaled it back to 24 servings since I only had 3 avocadoes. I let all the ingredients, minus the avocado, marinate all day. The veggies soaked up a lot of the juice, so I added about 1/4 of the total of juice again, and it made it just right. It also seemed to be missing something, and the oregano flavor had toned down considerably since first mixing the juice, so I added about 1 Tbsp of ground cumin and that made it perfect! There was about half left after the party and my husband and I were so glad because we got to finish it at home! This is going to be my new "potluck" recipe - so easy and tasty! Oh, and I used one can of corn instead of frozen, and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Excellent salsa recipe! Everyone raved, even those that didn't think they would like it! I added a can of black beans and some extra cilantro and cumin just because I love them! Makes a lot - we ate salsa for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
SUPER GOOD AND FANCY! I made it for Thankgiving to eat before dinner, everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. Like others suggested I used 2/3 can drained canned corn, cilantro instead of oregno, and half the olives. Watch the serving count-I made way too much (32 servings) but not a drop wasted :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
wonderful!! I,too, followed other reader's suggestions, and used cilantro instead of oregano. Use the best olive oil you can afford..it will be well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Amazing recipe!! All of my friends were asking me for the recipe after I made it for a party. A real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Yum! I used one can of corn, no olives, half a can of black beans, a healthy dash of cumin, and just a dash of salt. You definitely need to let it marinate in the fridge for a little while...but the wait is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This recipe rocks! Everytime I make it I get asked for the recipe (so I always bring copies). Even people who say they don't like Avocado's or guacamole seem to love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbshop
Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Simple and delicious! This was a favorite at several parties we attended last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMMUR
Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Great with Fajitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gotaas Carter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Just awesome! I sliced up cherry tomatoes in place of the red pepper, added some fresh lime juice and also used fresh cilantro in place of oregano. The second time I made it I let it marinate for a full 24 hours and it brought the flavors out even more. My family just raves about this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States