Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Left out the green pepper, but added a little crushed garlic..I squeezed the tomatoe seeds out so it wasn't so watery, used some red wine vinigar instead of the lime juice and added a little extra virgin olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Love this recipe. I always add garlic to it. It;s great with anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Everything was fine except for GREEN PEPPERS bec. of it's strong taste. OMIT the green peppers, and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Wow the picture looked just like mine! This is wonderful, almost like a very chunky guacamole. I used red onion, and omitted the bell pepper and cilantro. This is really delicious all you avocado lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Light and refreshing! All ingredients are my favorite so I found this to be an excellent recipe! I didn't have cilantro on hand but I'll try that next time. I think I'll even try adding some chunks of whole milk mozzarella cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Yummy! I omitted the cilantro (personal preference) and went a little light on the onion. I made this as a side dish for Beef and Bean Chimichangas (from this site), but we ended up just using this as a topping instead. Very tasty, even if it wasn't quite as salad-y as I was expecting by the title of the recipe. It's more like an avocado salsa or chunky guacamole. Whatever you call it, it's good eats! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
To make it more salad-like, I had this with mixed lettuce leaves, diced red onion and sliced radishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
My mom and I loved this recipe. I didn't have any cilantro on hand, but it turned out fine. Also, I added about 3 avocados, only a half of tomato and very little onion (I'm not an fan of raw onions). Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Wonderful salad John. I used red onion, red bell pepper for color, lemon instead of lime, parsley instead of cilantro (hate it) my usual garlic and onion powders and served it over some baby spinach. Read how someone rated this low due to under ripe avacados? Don't quite get that, however, just so no one else makes the same mistake, the avacado should be dark and give a bit when you press it. A couple of days in a paper bag on your counter (not in the fridge) will ripen them nicely. Thanks for a great recipe John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States