Avocado Salad with Bacon and Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Oh my goodness were we pleasantly surprised and rewarded on this! It looked just beautiful on the red leaf lettuce and the taste matched its presentation. The combination of creamy sour cream, buttery smooth avocado and smoky bacon was just out of this world. Whether eaten on its own as a salad, or served in tacos, you will not be disappointed. This will be my new guacamole, and because of this recipe we will be eating a lot more avocados. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I'm originally from the Tampa Bay area and I grew up with avocado and key lime trees in my yard, so I grew up with fresh guacamole in the wintertime, or what passes for winter in Florida. When it comes to regular guacamole, less ingredients are better, but the avocados must be very ripe or it will lack flavor and creamy consistency. This salad is excellent but especially good if your avocados are a touch underripe for standard guacamole. I added a clove of garlic and substituted key lime juice for lemon. Key lime is tarter than regular lime and gives it a unique flavor. I would even suggest regular Persian lime instead of lemon in this recipe. Overall, excellent as a dip or even condiment to tacos or fajitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
THIS IS THE BOMB.!! But...I didn't use it as an actual salad...lol It is KILLER RICH. I doubled this recipe - and only changed two things. I used low fat sour cream and fresh lime juice instead of lemon. As suggested by another cook I made up the lime/sour cream sauce earlier in the day so that the flavors could mingle and "get happy". About 30 min before serving it I cubed up the avocados and mixed them in. HOWEVER.. I served this at my burrito bar dinner and it was inhaled! What wasn't slathered into the pulled pork burritos was eaten as a heavenly chunky dip with chips. Not one drop was left over... :) Next time I'll try a little fresh Cilantro...then it will be 6 stars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ADZELL
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
SOOOO GOOD!!!!!! Ingredients wise, I followed the recipe to the "T", except used iceburg lettuce because that is what we had in the house. What a pretty presentation this salad makes & I think it would be even nicer with romaine. I mixed all of the dressing ingredients together (minus the avocados) and let it sit in the fridge for a few hours before serving. Just before dinner I then chopped up the avocados and very gently folded them into the sour cream mixture. My dad RAVED about this salad and said about 5 times how good it was; he never, ever does that! Thanks TXG for such a simple & tasty recipe!!! I plan on making this often. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Awesome! I prepared this a day in advance and served with the crock pot carnitas recipe on this site. I tasted it when I first prepared it and it was good. The second day...it was delicious! The flavors really combined having sat overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Wow, wow, wow! I LOVED this! I followed the recipe exactly except I used low fat sour cream(all I had) and threw in a little extra bacon(maybe half a piece). I will make this over and over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Delicious and so simple. I served it with soft pork tacos, but it so delicious on it's own. I wish I would of doubled the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was a perfect addition to our meal. I served it with a spicy baked chicken and the two dishes really complimented eachother. I wasn't sure how this would taste but it has quickly become a favorite in our house! I also used fresh lime juice and the taste was amazing.Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Delicious! I tried the recipe with lemon and then with key lime, and the key lime was impressive! The only other difference was I used about 1/2 the sour cream and thought it was better. I served it over lettuce lightly tossed in olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyu24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
We love this I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States