Avocado Salad with Bacon and Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was a perfect addition to our meal. I served it with a spicy baked chicken and the two dishes really complimented eachother. I wasn't sure how this would taste but it has quickly become a favorite in our house! I also used fresh lime juice and the taste was amazing.Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This is pretty good but I like avacodos so much I don't think it needs the bacon and other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimaneye67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
THIS IS THE BOMB.!! But...I didn't use it as an actual salad...lol It is KILLER RICH. I doubled this recipe - and only changed two things. I used low fat sour cream and fresh lime juice instead of lemon. As suggested by another cook I made up the lime/sour cream sauce earlier in the day so that the flavors could mingle and "get happy". About 30 min before serving it I cubed up the avocados and mixed them in. HOWEVER.. I served this at my burrito bar dinner and it was inhaled! What wasn't slathered into the pulled pork burritos was eaten as a heavenly chunky dip with chips. Not one drop was left over... :) Next time I'll try a little fresh Cilantro...then it will be 6 stars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was lovely. I didn't really measure, just estimated, and I added some cilantro, and it was perfect with my Mexican dinner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I made a couple substitutions, but they worked just fine! This was delicious! Very surprising how tasty it was, for such a simple recipe! I used lime instead of lemon, and I used pancetta instead of bacon. I will definitely share this with others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zernie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JZGrebe
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I made this as a side dish for Chicken Enchiladas. Delicious and refreshing, just as the recipe poster suggested! Will definitely make the rounds with other south of the border inspired dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZGrebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
As suggested by another member, I used this as a condiment on the Slow Cooker Carnitas. As a condiment, I reduced the avacados. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Wow, wow, wow! I LOVED this! I followed the recipe exactly except I used low fat sour cream(all I had) and threw in a little extra bacon(maybe half a piece). I will make this over and over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ADZELL
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
SOOOO GOOD!!!!!! Ingredients wise, I followed the recipe to the "T", except used iceburg lettuce because that is what we had in the house. What a pretty presentation this salad makes & I think it would be even nicer with romaine. I mixed all of the dressing ingredients together (minus the avocados) and let it sit in the fridge for a few hours before serving. Just before dinner I then chopped up the avocados and very gently folded them into the sour cream mixture. My dad RAVED about this salad and said about 5 times how good it was; he never, ever does that! Thanks TXG for such a simple & tasty recipe!!! I plan on making this often. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Delicious! I tried the recipe with lemon and then with key lime, and the key lime was impressive! The only other difference was I used about 1/2 the sour cream and thought it was better. I served it over lettuce lightly tossed in olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyu24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States