Avocado Ranch Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Exactly what I was looking for! I was trying to recreate a chop salad I had at a local restaurant and this did the trick! I used it to top chopped romaine, chopped avacdo, chopped tomatoes, crumbled bacon and gorgonzola cheese. Makes a rich and elegant looking salad - would be great for company. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I followed recipe exactly except I used dried buttermilk powder and Miracle Whip instead of mayo. This is a really delicious recipe for vegetable dip. I also added milk to thin it down for salad dressing. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taco Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Hubs grimaced when I told him the salad dressing had avocado in it. I should have just kept my mouth shut because he would have never known the difference. But even knowing that the terrible avocado was in it, he still admitted he really liked it. And then he remarked (ha!), “I like to try new things.” Of course he liked it, it was delicious! The avocado gives it richness and a beautiful hint of green color, but it does not contribute much flavor. I followed the recipe but used fresh parsley and dill. This is simply a lovely, fresh dressing with a simple elegance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Good. I used lowfat mayo and light sour cream, plus one fresh garlic clove instead of the powder. Tasty and light. I'll bet the full-fat version is insanely delicious, but it's tasty light too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This Dressing is wonderful!!! Great for dipping vegetables or on a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kisling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Definitely a great recipe! I made this as a spread for a Turkey/Swiss sandwich tray. Got great reviews at a shower. I made it Saturday, and it tasted even better Sunday night. The flavors had more time to meld, I guess. I don't know how long the dip will stay good, but it's definitely something you can make the night before. It was more of a spread/dip consistency, as is. But I'm sure thinning it with buttermilk would make a fantastic dressing. It tasted so fresh, I might keep making this instead of buying bottles! I'm going to try the light version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Delicious! I omitted the dill since I was out but otherwise, made as directed. The flavor was reminiscent of cucumber. Will try adding a garlic clove next time since you can never have too much garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
fast, easy, had most things on hand. I subbed milk (2tbs) for the buttermilk to make it lass think, and added cilantro. will use this again over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
YUM!! I used all light ingredients and it was Fabulous! I added a dash of lemon juice to it as well. Great recipe! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I didn't have buttermilk so substitued regular nonfat milk. We liked this. I'm sure it's better with the buttermilk. I did add more onion powder, dill, and garlic powder than called for, and still thought something might be missing? Could just be the buttermilk :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States