Avocado Ranch Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I love love love LOVE this recipe - not as a salad dressing, but more as a sauce/dip mix. I added a pinch of cumin as we were having tacos that nite, and those tacos, made with Charley's Mexican Meat, and topped with this and pico de gallo were simply to DIE for. Lovely subtle avocado taste that was the perfect contast to an otherwise spicy meal. Great as a dip with veggies and tortilla chips - this is def a keeper. Oh! Just a quick note - the first time I made this, I was out of sour cream and used all mayo. Let me tell you, after one taste, my daughter and I both looked at one another and said "deviled eggs". We tried it as a filling for hard boiled eggs and they were devoured in a matter of minutes...great job and ty so much for recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was supper yummy! I made the second batch as an avocado Caesar style with Anchovies and Parmesan cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This is very tasty. I made it with white balsamic vinegar and one garlic clove in lieu of the garlic powder. Even as I wrote this, I changed it from a 4 to a 5 because I think it reminds me of tat2's No Guilt Ranch Dressing in that with thinning it could be used as a salad dressing. I loved the taste. I'll play around with it a while to make it fit whatever comes to mind. In the meantime, I'll use it for dipping carrot sticks, pieces of red cabbage, celery, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I did not have powdered garlic or powdered onion so I used a clove of chopped garlic and 3 chopped green onions. Didn't have parsley so I used cilantro instead. Came out very well with what I had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiLi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is SO good! I just made it and haven't even had it on my salad yet. I used everything except for the dill, because I didn't have it. I added lemon juice and cut up cilantro. I'll definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Loved it! Used low fat mayo and sour cream, and it turned out great. I also used regular milk (well, Lactaid) instead of buttermilk to thin it out to facilitate better pouring. I think maybe next time I will use a little more of each spice and add some salt and pepper, but I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Definitely a great recipe! I made this as a spread for a Turkey/Swiss sandwich tray. Got great reviews at a shower. I made it Saturday, and it tasted even better Sunday night. The flavors had more time to meld, I guess. I don't know how long the dip will stay good, but it's definitely something you can make the night before. It was more of a spread/dip consistency, as is. But I'm sure thinning it with buttermilk would make a fantastic dressing. It tasted so fresh, I might keep making this instead of buying bottles! I'm going to try the light version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
YUM!! I used all light ingredients and it was Fabulous! I added a dash of lemon juice to it as well. Great recipe! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Yummy! I have a ton of ranch powder that I'm trying to use up, so I used 1.5 TBS of that rather than the individual seasonings, the vinegar and the buttermilk. I made this to serve with Buffalo Chicken Fajitas, but it's also very good to serve as a veggie dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Just made tonight and this was tasty. I did add a little more vinegar and pepper for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States