Avocado Ranch Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Very delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Love this dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I love this when made with grated onion and minced garlic in place of the dry ingredients. To make the buttermilk required for the recipe, I add a few drops of lemon juice to the milk. I once tried adding lime juice, but I thought it gave it an odd flavor. I've also added fresh cilantro before... amazing. Great dip for chips, veggies. Would probably want to thin to use as a salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Nice and creamy. Great on a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Dill taste was way too strong for my liking. I would cut that WAY down if I made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn in CT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Great recipes. I used it on tacos. It gave it a great zingy taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I had to make a few adaptations due to food allergies. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream, omitted the butter milk and used cider vinegar. Even with the changes, the result was delicious! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Um, no thank you.... I really didn't enjoy this at all. My parents did, so I guess that's all that matters, right? Last night's Mexican-themed dinner included white chili, cornbread, a tossed salad and apple enchiladas for dessert. I wanted to serve a dressing that would complement my entree choices (NOTE: I had to thin this down with extra buttermilk to achieve a pourable consistency). All I can say is this tastes NOTHING at all like Chili's avocado ranch dip they serve with their Southwest egg rolls (not even close, IMHO). I like their version, but NOT this copycat one. Right after making this (earlier in the day to allow time to refrigerate / mingle flavors), I tasted it - and nothing! There was no initial taste (if that even makes sense???), followed by a VERY subtle (and I mean subtle) herby aftertaste. I hoped that a couple of hours chilling time would change my mind, but sadly, this made no difference. Maybe this will float your boat, but it certainly didn't mine. I sooo wish I would have gone with my gut and tried casa dressing instead (Denyse). Oh well. You can't win all the time.... Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I made this exactly how the recipe was written and I must say that I found it on the bland side. I added some ground white pepper and it was still a little bland. Next time that I make it I do believe that I will add some ground mustard, paprika, cumin, and possibly some Adobo as well. I will say this much though my 3yr old loved. It is because of that I am giving it four stars, because she is one picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debjdowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, Florida, USA
Living In: Palatka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Beautiful color and tasty salad dressing. Subbed 2% milk for the buttermilk and added more than 1 tblsp to make a nice salad dressing consistency. Only other thing I changed was to use cider vinegar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States