Avocado Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
GREAT BREAD!! This recipe is fantastic. Do not let the word "Advocado" (use Haas Advocado's)scare you away from this bread. This is very sweet and for added taste I added an orange sauce and whip cream. This is a must try and if you have any reservations put them aside. Thanks for something different and exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
This recipe is fabulous. And is out of this world when served with a cup of tea! Definitely will be making this one again. And to think I was just trying to get rid of my avocados when I picked this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
Very easy and delicious! It's very moist; and the pretty "green" color, is an eye catcher! I used golden raisens; when serving to family members who don't care for nuts, I doubled the raisens. Also increased the spices a little. Very similar to the consistency of pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This idea behind this recipe intrigued me... It's a different but delicious taste- I enjoyed it a lot- added more raisins as well as some more chopped pecans- my mother did comment, however, that it tasted too much like allspice- maybe I'd lessen that if I was to make this again. It's a unique bread- one that I don't think would go unnoticed if served- I definately don't think I wasted my time making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Awesome but not as green as I'd hoped. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This recipe is delicious! My whole family loves it! It is a little like zucchini bread. You will not be dissapointed in this bread! I will double the recipe next time! I did not have any buttermilk so I used a half cup of sour cream and a quarter cup of milk and it turned out wonderful! Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe Michelle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
Sounds weird but was really quite good! The bread comes out only slightly greenish with little green bits strewn through it, I guess it wasn't as green as I had expected (this is not a criticism, merely an observation). It is extremely moist. It doesn't really have a particularly distinct avocado flavor though - it just pretty much tastes like *any* typical spice bread to me. I think next time I make this I will try pistachio nuts and yellow raisins, both for flavor and to keep with the greenish color scheme of the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
The batter tastes wonderful but when I baked it, the bread turns out to be bitter. I dont know why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
This bread was delicious and so moist, it does taste like a zucchini bread. This is a perfect recipe for those avocados that are getting too ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This is a very delicious bread recipe. I made it with some avocados that were sitting in my refridgerator and that were starting to get overripe. It took about 2 and one half avocados to get the 1 and 1/2 cups of mashed avocados that this recipe requires. I used a little less sugar than the recipe required and used bread flour instead of all purpose flour. Instead of the pecans, I used pistacchios and almonds and left out the raisins. Everything else in the recipe, I followed. After I baked the bread I gave a slice to each of my parents and they both thought that it was zucchini bread and said it was great. The bread turned out golden brown on the outside and very moist and green on the inside, with a flavorful sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States