Avocado Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This was a very interesting bread which got mixed reviews around my table. It was incredibly moist and flavorful but some were put off by the overwhelming presence of the nutmeg. I used golden raisins and pistacios. Not sure if I would make this again just because not enough people in my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Great recipe! I found this recipe because I was trying to use up some extra buttermilk and leftover avocados (what a combination). I made just a couple of changes. I added 1/2tsp of nutmeg + 1/4 tsp of all spice. I wasn't paying attention when I picked up the nutmeg but it tasted pretty good in the end. Didn't have raisins so I substituted dried cranberries in place of raisins. Also, I only had one baking pan so I used the other half of the batter to make muffins (12 medium-sized muffins). I put them in with the bread and baked them for 25-30min. Very pleased with the results . . . super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Strange, but pretty good. No real avocado flavor or color, but a good quick bread. The loaves were a little flat/small, so not terribly pretty to look at (or give as a gift), but they tasted good. I used pistachios.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Very tasty. I only used 1.5 cups of sugar and replaced the raisins and nuts with dried crannberries and sunflower seeds because that is what I had on hand. It took a little under an hour to cook. I will definatley make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakbank, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This bread is so good! It's moist and yummy. I didn't have buttermilk like one of the other reviewers so instead I used 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1/4 cup of milk like they did and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I really enjoyed this bread - what a great way to use up left over avocados! I'm definitely going to keep this one around to use again. It had great texture and the raisins and nuts in it were fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This tasted like a loaf of spices and sugar. I doubt it'd have made a difference if I'd completely left the avocado out of it. I certainly couldn't taste them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvish-Hillbilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This quick bread is just delicious! I used a little less allspice because of some other reviews but next time I'll use the amount stated in recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was so GREAT that made it one day - repeated next to take to party - made variation - added fruitcake fruits and made into mini-muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Delicious. I substituted soy milk with vinegar for the buttermilk. I didn't have any orange zest, but it was delectable without. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States