Avocado Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
YUM! THIS IS A WONDERFUL, CREAMY BREAD. EVERYONE IN THE FAMILY WAS A LITTLE WORRIED WHEN I SAID AVOCADO, BUT THEN THEY GOBBLED IT UP - INCLUDING MY ONE YEAR OLD. I REDUCED THE ALLSPICE AND CINNAMON TO LESS THAN 1/2 TSP. BECAUSE I DIDN'T WANT TO OVERPOWER THE DELICATE AVOCADO TASTE, NEXT TIME I WILL REDUCE THE ORANGE ZEST AS WELL. I PUT THE AVOCADO IN THE CUSINART TO MASH IT - IT TOOK ABOUT 3 OF THEM. DEFINATELY WORTH A TRY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri   Yaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This seemed like a strange recipe, but we love avocado and tried it. It is fantastic! Delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I made this two times. Both times I only had one avocado. The first time I just substituted banana and the second time I used ripe plantains (the peel is completely black). The plantains in the bread added a nice complement to the avocado. One of my favorite recipes. My neighbor has been bugging me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I gave this recipe 5 stars not only because it tastes great (much like zucchini bread), but also because it's a terrific way to use those just-about-ready-to-toss avocados! I only had 2 avocados (equivalent to about 1 cup mashed) so I added some applesauce to extend it. Also, in keeping with the "green" theme, I used pistachios and omitted the raisins. Might be fun to make it red and green for Christmas and use dried cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Excellent bread. I made it in a decorative bundt pan, precut it and dusted it ith a light sprinkle of powdered sugar. Crowd favorite. Try using macadamia nuts, wonderful addition. Mine came out quite green, but you can add a few drops of food coloring to achieve that if desired. If you don't have buttermilk on hand, you can use 1 Tbls of vinegar in the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
Not good in flavor or consistency ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
Very nice. Wonderful surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Outstanding recipe with fantastic results. I've made it twice, & both times served it to company who wanted the recipe. I omitted the raisins (personal preference) and used sour milk (milk soured with lemon juice) instead of buttermilk because I didn't have buttermilk on hand. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This is a very delicious bread recipe. I made it with some avocados that were sitting in my refridgerator and that were starting to get overripe. It took about 2 and one half avocados to get the 1 and 1/2 cups of mashed avocados that this recipe requires. I used a little less sugar than the recipe required and used bread flour instead of all purpose flour. Instead of the pecans, I used pistacchios and almonds and left out the raisins. Everything else in the recipe, I followed. After I baked the bread I gave a slice to each of my parents and they both thought that it was zucchini bread and said it was great. The bread turned out golden brown on the outside and very moist and green on the inside, with a flavorful sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States