Avocado Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Very interesting, and very, very good! I chose this recipe in the first place and decided to follow it exactly because I've come across this submitter's name several times either with her recipes or with her reviews and have always found she knows what she's doing! If Michelleca says it, I respect it and I follow it! I used this batter for muffins and baked them at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes. What the avocado doesn't contribute in flavor is more than made up for by what it contributes in richness and moistness. Because it is a neutral flavor the bread (or muffins in my case) picks up the flavor of whatever additions you make. In this case the orange flavor is prominent with a hint of cinnamon and spice - very pleasant. It is the addition of the orange zest, pecans and raisins that really make this extraordinarily delicious, and I would suggest not to leave any of it out. The bread is not quite green but definitely a different color. It is beautifully flecked with the pecans, nuts, raisins, and specks of orange zest and green avocado. I loved the recipe just as written but the mildness of the avocado lends this to any number of flavor or fruit variations. I topped the muffins with sparkling sugar before they went in the oven, which gave them a sweet, sparkly crunch. Once again, Michelleca, you have come up with something good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Excellent bread. I made it in a decorative bundt pan, precut it and dusted it ith a light sprinkle of powdered sugar. Crowd favorite. Try using macadamia nuts, wonderful addition. Mine came out quite green, but you can add a few drops of food coloring to achieve that if desired. If you don't have buttermilk on hand, you can use 1 Tbls of vinegar in the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I gave this recipe 5 stars not only because it tastes great (much like zucchini bread), but also because it's a terrific way to use those just-about-ready-to-toss avocados! I only had 2 avocados (equivalent to about 1 cup mashed) so I added some applesauce to extend it. Also, in keeping with the "green" theme, I used pistachios and omitted the raisins. Might be fun to make it red and green for Christmas and use dried cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
GREAT BREAD!! This recipe is fantastic. Do not let the word "Advocado" (use Haas Advocado's)scare you away from this bread. This is very sweet and for added taste I added an orange sauce and whip cream. This is a must try and if you have any reservations put them aside. Thanks for something different and exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This idea behind this recipe intrigued me... It's a different but delicious taste- I enjoyed it a lot- added more raisins as well as some more chopped pecans- my mother did comment, however, that it tasted too much like allspice- maybe I'd lessen that if I was to make this again. It's a unique bread- one that I don't think would go unnoticed if served- I definately don't think I wasted my time making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
This bread was such a surprise. I was of course apprehensive, (AVOCADO BREAD?!?) but had to try it after reading the reviews. Excellent. The avocado, while absent in taste, provides an excellent creamy texture. I love avocado, but you could really hardly taste it. If it's similar to anything, I'd say banana nut bread (which I actually hate), but MUCH MUCH better. It was fabulous, my mom has already finished half the loaf I made yesterday. Great warm with a little butter spread on the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I have an avocado tree in my back yard and didn't know what to do with them. Found this recipe and loved it. Made several loafs for gifts this year. Not one complaint!! In fact everyone has asked for the recipe. I did make some changes. Added more raisins and more nuts. Did not use allspice or orange zest but added more cinnamon. Making several more and freezing them for later in the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
This recipe is fabulous. And is out of this world when served with a cup of tea! Definitely will be making this one again. And to think I was just trying to get rid of my avocados when I picked this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This recipe is delicious! My whole family loves it! It is a little like zucchini bread. You will not be dissapointed in this bread! I will double the recipe next time! I did not have any buttermilk so I used a half cup of sour cream and a quarter cup of milk and it turned out wonderful! Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe Michelle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
Very easy and delicious! It's very moist; and the pretty "green" color, is an eye catcher! I used golden raisens; when serving to family members who don't care for nuts, I doubled the raisens. Also increased the spices a little. Very similar to the consistency of pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States