Avocado Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Good--but the flavor of avocados is so mild that you could hardly taste it. It tasted like zucchini bread to me. I will try making it again and adding more avocados (I used two, maybe three would be better?), because whenever I did get a bite with a bit of avocado in it, the bread was creamy deliciousness. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I replaced a cup of AP flour with wheat flour and substituted golder raisins for the pecans. I had larger than average avocados so I ended up using about 1 per loaf (I made 4 mini loaves). The bread turned out extremely dense, moist and delicious. Like most people have said, it doesn't taste much like avocado, but some of the bigger avocado chunks that weren't completely mashed turned out beautiful in the bread, looked like bright green pistachios. My 1c wheat flour substitution probably took away some of the sweetness so could use some more sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Really super bread, everyone loved it. I didn't have pecans so used walnuts, still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fareham, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I am so pleased with the way this bread turned out! I LOVE avocado and am always looking for new recipes in which to use it. This was perfect! I omitted the raisins due to personal preference and substituted plain fat-free yogurt for the butter and used 1 1/3 cups each of whole wheat and all purpose flours. Everything else was by the recipe. YUMMY!! I think I've eaten half the loaf already! Thanks for this delightful avocado recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I like making bread with all sorts of fruit (cantaloupe's really good) and one day I thought, why not avocado? I was surprised to find there was actually a recipe for it. I only wanted to try it out so I cut the recipe down to 1/3 and baked it in a mini loaf pan. I substituted applesauce for butter and used soymilk + lime juice to make my "buttermilk" and added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon (I love cinnamon). I must've have done something wrong because it has an avocado flavor! To be more specific, like the avocado eggrolls from The Cheesecake Factory. My sister agrees. Mmm... it's good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Inna N
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
It turned out good! My husband liked it. But strangely, I ended up with too little batter and the bread came out a little thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
This bread was such a surprise. I was of course apprehensive, (AVOCADO BREAD?!?) but had to try it after reading the reviews. Excellent. The avocado, while absent in taste, provides an excellent creamy texture. I love avocado, but you could really hardly taste it. If it's similar to anything, I'd say banana nut bread (which I actually hate), but MUCH MUCH better. It was fabulous, my mom has already finished half the loaf I made yesterday. Great warm with a little butter spread on the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Very yummy. I substituted the buttermilk with milk to which I added 1 tbsp. lemon juice, and I put 1 c. wheat flour in place of 1 c. of the all-purpose. I used a bundt (tube) pan and it baked in about 45 minutes. I also only had about 1 c. of avocado (about 1.5 avocados) so I made up the other 1/2 cup with a mashed banana. I would prefer using all avocado in the future, b/c this tastes a bit like banana bread of course, but it's still good. You wouldn't even know avocado is in there except for the very slight green tint (which is even less b/c of the banana I used).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This bread is awesome. I've made it several times and everyone loves it. Thanks for sharing this excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I was a bit leary of this recipe but had aome avocados quickly going bad. I substituted mini chocolate chips instead of raisins to intice a picky child. I didn't mention that it was made from avocados because I'm the only one that likes them..I called it chocolate chip nut bread. I made mini loaves and we ate two at dinner. It was a huge hit with everyone. Personally, I think I would've liked it better without the chocolate chips but it was still pretty good with them. It has a creamy subtle taste that would be hard to place if you weren't aware what is in it. Love this bread, I won't hesitate to make it again. Mine had a very light green tint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States