Avocado Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ansianne
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I loved this! My friends and I had an "iron chef" style potluck party where avocado was the secret ingredient (we all had to bring a dish made with avocado). Not content with making yet another sushi or guacamole dish, I searched this site with the ingredient avocado, and came across this. It was super moist and tasted wonderful - although people who don't like the spices' flavors should consider scaling them down. But for me it was delicious. Thanks to another reviewer's idea, I made muffins instead of bread, and baked at 375 for 20min. I halved the recipe and that made a dozen muffins. Like many others have said, it tastes of the spices and citrus, because avocado quite frankly doesn't have much of a taste. I've always thought that avocados are more of a texture thing than a taste thing, and this recipe really shows that; the avocados makes the bread super moist and brings out the flavors of the spices and the zest. The pecans and the raisins definitely add huge points. And finally, doesn't avocado bread just sound cool? My friends were all intrigued and the muffins were gone in no time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This bread is a great treat! It is fun to make for friends. I like to give them a slice and ask them what they think it is. Everyone is always shocked that is is avocado, then they ask for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I tried this recipe because I had avocados that were very ripe. Turned out to be a really great recipe. Everyone really liked it! My kids (who complain about everything), my husband (who complains about everything) and my co workers (who always have "special reasons" why they don't eat whatever also ate it and raved. I'd make it again in a second. If your a banana bread person - try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was amazing, easy to make and taste great. All three of my guest loved it and asked for the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I have always loved making quick breads because they are typically a great way to get rid of too much or overripe produce...bananas, zucchini, etc. This bread is perfect for using up my extra avocados when they're just a little too mushy. The texture and flavor is great, and it keeps/freezes very well. I never have buttermilk, so I followed in the footsteps of some other reviewers and used 1/2c sour cream with 1/4c milk and it worked well. This is a new staple for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This recipe really peeked my curiosity. I omitted the raisins and didn't have buttermilk but did the milk with a tbls of lemon juice thing and it came out beautifully. This bread comes out looking and tasting wonderful. The bread has just the right amount of density and looked good enough to give as a gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tillyleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
WONDERFUL! Followed directions exact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I liked the moistness, although it kind of fell apart. Also, it tastes, not of avocado (which I couldn't taste at all), but of orange zest. May try it again, but next time, I might try much less orange zest and more cinnamon, maybe some nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I could not handle the after taste. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States