Avocado Prawns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This is really good. I made it as a side dish served next to Lemon Garlic Talapia. I served it over fresh green beans and it was good, a little thicker then i thought it would be. I was expecting more of a sauce but it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Andree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
We loved this. We used a pound of shrimp and served it over 16 oz. thin spaghetti (lightly coated in olive oil.) I felt like there was definitely enough sauce without changing the recipe. For our family, it served 4. The interesting thing is- it really doesn't taste like avocado. But it's very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this as an entree for Christmas lunch exactly as given in the recipe. I was intrigued by the idea of warm, cooked avocado! The dish on it's own is interesting, the flavor of the avocado came through just fine although there was a tad too much avocado to prawns ratio. I feel it does need to be served over pasta or perhaps brown rice to cut the richness. All in all a very novel and interesting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
this was very good, very fresh flavour. I did however tweak it a bit, to make the sauce a bit more pastier and smoother. but it was a hit and will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
The warm avocado fascinated me so I had to try it. The shrimp sort of got lost in the sauce the first time I made this and we thought the sauce was too thick. The second time I steamed my shrimp as I normally do and dipped them in the sauce, which I thinned with a bit of dry white wine. I didn't measure, just added until the texture was right. Don't be afraid, this is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Original and refreshing way to make butterfly shrimp! Go easy on the lemon and add a bit of white wine to make a reduction in the pan. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
It's really good but a lot of avocado. I used half the recommended amount and I put it over pasta and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I made this recipe for my family along with stuffed mushrooms. The mushrooms were a hit but no one liked the prawns. Unfortunately, I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States