Avocado Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This was surprisingly amazing! I took the suggestion of other reviewers and added a block of reduced fat cream cheese, and also substituted fresh lime juice for the lemon because it made more sense with the avacados. I increased the amount of condensed milk to about 10-12 ozs. based on similar recipes I've found (many other recipes like this call for a full 15 oz. can), and everything fit perfectly into a 9" pie crust. Definitely chill this for at least 6-8 hour if not overnight for the best set/flavor, and look for good quality, ripe avocados as this is the KEY to this recipe. Still can't get over how fresh and unique these ingredients taste together - wouldn't have expected it! Thanks so much for the recipe...this will be a new summertime favorite! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
For God's sake stop reading and make this pie NOW! The texture is yummy, and the flavor is out of sight. It's a breeze to make, and everyone will want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
So easy and so superb! I am a huge avocado fan and have been DYING to try this recipe out! It is absolutely heavenly. I made 2 pies. Per each pie, I used 2 avocadoes, 2 LIMES, 1/2 of a 300ML can of condensed milk, and about 1/4 cup cream cheese. Blended it in my food processor and poured it into a prepared pie crust. I chilled this for like 12 hours. Tasted like KIWI for some reason. SOOOOOOO GOOD!!!!! Will make this so many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2000
We all loved it!!! It was hard to imagine what it would taste like and it was a very nice surprise. We enjoyed the sweet and tangy taste. I also think that this recipe is one that an elementary classroom, Brownie or Girl Scout troop would enjoy making. Thanks for the fast, great tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This pie really is amazing... I thought it was a cool idea, but I didn't really think it would taste as good as it does. Interesting texture and taste. I made it exactly as the recipe depicts, except used lime instead of lemon juice and a little less than half a cup. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Loved it wasnt sure at first my mom tried it and told me it tasted like Kiwi she was suprised when I told her it was Avocado. Next time I will take the others' advise and let it set longer or use cream cheese but it was delicious my husband ate every last bit of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
i was reading that avocados are excellent food to eat, omega-3's and the right kind of fat to have. Never ate an avocado before, found this recipe...oh MY GOSH!! IT IS SO GOOD. Thank you for this woderful find, the family loved it! I did add a third of a block of cream cheese, as per other reviews suggested. Didn't necessarily need it, but got rid of the package fromt he fridge that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I made two of these pies. The first was a bit to tart for my taste and not very solid but very tasty. The second I used less lemon juice, covered, and let set in the refridgerator for a bit over a day. The pie was more solid and had wonderful flavor. I would suggest maybe a bit of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PitBoss007
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
My bf, who loves avocados, was a little apprehensive. But after tasting the mixture he couldn't wait to eat the chilled pie. I purchased individual crusts and filled those. I used most of the mix. Topped with banana and strawberry, this dessert was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
This was absolutely wonderful! I had to double the recipe because I only had a 14oz can of sweetened condensed milk but then I only had 1/2 cup of lemon juice. It came out great and everyone loved it--good thing I made two! Next time I will put a little more lemon juice in it--probably 3/4 cup for a double recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States