Avocado Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
i was reading that avocados are excellent food to eat, omega-3's and the right kind of fat to have. Never ate an avocado before, found this recipe...oh MY GOSH!! IT IS SO GOOD. Thank you for this woderful find, the family loved it! I did add a third of a block of cream cheese, as per other reviews suggested. Didn't necessarily need it, but got rid of the package fromt he fridge that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Great texture and flavor - very unique! I took it to work and got a lot of compliments. Tastes quite a bit like key lime pie, but with the avocado flavor. Very smooth texture if you process it well. I topped mine with cool whip. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinNurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by XXXNAUGHTY
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
So easy and so superb! I am a huge avocado fan and have been DYING to try this recipe out! It is absolutely heavenly. I made 2 pies. Per each pie, I used 2 avocadoes, 2 LIMES, 1/2 of a 300ML can of condensed milk, and about 1/4 cup cream cheese. Blended it in my food processor and poured it into a prepared pie crust. I chilled this for like 12 hours. Tasted like KIWI for some reason. SOOOOOOO GOOD!!!!! Will make this so many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
Incredibly simple, tastes pretty good, the color is not the most appetizing. Over all a good, unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
This was sooo good... everyone thought it was key lime pie! it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Very good! This was a little on the lemony side for me though, so I might reduce the juice slightly next time. I also think I may try lime juice for a variation though., I will definitely be making again! Yummy! I didn't find the avocados to be overpowering at all. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
intresting......we liked it but it was very rich yet clean in the mouth......hmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I made two of these pies. The first was a bit to tart for my taste and not very solid but very tasty. The second I used less lemon juice, covered, and let set in the refridgerator for a bit over a day. The pie was more solid and had wonderful flavor. I would suggest maybe a bit of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
This was absolutely wonderful! I had to double the recipe because I only had a 14oz can of sweetened condensed milk but then I only had 1/2 cup of lemon juice. It came out great and everyone loved it--good thing I made two! Next time I will put a little more lemon juice in it--probably 3/4 cup for a double recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
This pie is ok, nobody at our family get together was enthusiastic about it. It is easy to make and the taste is unique. I would suggest a little more lemon juice and a little more sweetened condensed milk...to make the avocado taste less powerful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States