Avocado Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Loved it wasnt sure at first my mom tried it and told me it tasted like Kiwi she was suprised when I told her it was Avocado. Next time I will take the others' advise and let it set longer or use cream cheese but it was delicious my husband ate every last bit of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
What a cool concept. I wish, though, that the type of avocado was specified. Here in Florida, we get humongous green skin ones and dainty little Hass avocados. I chose Haas because they taste better, but only ended up with about a cup to use in the recipe. Is this too little? Other than that, it was very easy to put together in the blender (with the addition of a 1/3 cup of cream cheese) and I wholeheartedly agree that it tastes a bit like kiwi. Also, I made my own crust with crushed Nilla wafers and a stick of margarine. Then I baked it at 375 for 5 or so minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This pie really is amazing... I thought it was a cool idea, but I didn't really think it would taste as good as it does. Interesting texture and taste. I made it exactly as the recipe depicts, except used lime instead of lemon juice and a little less than half a cup. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This was surprisingly amazing! I took the suggestion of other reviewers and added a block of reduced fat cream cheese, and also substituted fresh lime juice for the lemon because it made more sense with the avacados. I increased the amount of condensed milk to about 10-12 ozs. based on similar recipes I've found (many other recipes like this call for a full 15 oz. can), and everything fit perfectly into a 9" pie crust. Definitely chill this for at least 6-8 hour if not overnight for the best set/flavor, and look for good quality, ripe avocados as this is the KEY to this recipe. Still can't get over how fresh and unique these ingredients taste together - wouldn't have expected it! Thanks so much for the recipe...this will be a new summertime favorite! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Not for me but if you like avocado's, this is a rich one for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tibia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fountain Inn, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This pie is quite nice! Even for those who are not big avocado fans, it's great because it ends up tasting rather like kiwi fruit more than avocado. I do double the amount of avocado in the recipe and am happy with the results. You can also substitute cream cheese and confectioner's sugar for the sweetened condensed milk if you like - it changes the texture a bit, but not in a bad way. Lots of room to tweak this one with good results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was too tart. We like key lime pie but this was not a good kind of tart. I made it as written and it was lip puckering tart. I couldn't taste the avacado at all. All I tasted was sour. If I was to make again I would definetly cut down the lemon and increase the sweetner. Not sure it is worth the $$ for good avacados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I thought this pie would be wierd, but since I like avacados so much, I thought I'd try it. I am so glad I did! I used lime juice instead of lemon, and added an 8 ounce package of reduced fat cream cheese and it was out of this world! This is a very good pie for people who love avacados or even people who don't! YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Yummy!! So easy to make - just whipped it up in a Magic Bullet and poured into pre-made graham crust. Couldn't be easier! And so tasty! Very creamy pie, with the lemon giving it that "key lime" taste. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Wow! You would really have to like avocados to dream up this recipe. It's like guacamole with sugar in it. It wasn't bad, it was just weird. In the future though, I'll stick to eating avocados with chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States