Avocado Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
We were sent a doz very ripe avocados for Christmas - it was so much fun to use them in this recipe - which was yummy!! Plus the joy of telling everyone that we had avocado pie for Christmas! Made it exactly to the instructions - next time might try lime juice just to be different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Blending in a 8oz package of Cream Cheese pushes this recipe into the 5 star category. Give it try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
The Best..avocado lovers and haters, both, raved about this one...I did, however add 4 oz block of cream cheese. large Florida avocado or 2 small California.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This is such an interesting pie and is a great summer dessert. I used lime juice instead of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I made some changes to the original recipe like some of the others. I used fresh lime juice rather than lemon and I also added a half of a package of cream cheese for nicer texture. I also did something a little different, I added a few sprigs of fresh mint to the avacados while they were pureeing in the food processor. The mint brought a nice fresh taste to the pie. I ended up calling it mojito pie because it reminded me so much of the refreshing beverage. Like another viewer, I felt that the pie was too sour. I would definately cut back on the amount of lime juice the next time I make it. I love this recipe and will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
hard to puree perfectly, so had some brown spots by the time we ate it... even with the lemon juice. interesting flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Stowers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This pie is simply amazing!!!! Smooth, creamy, and just tart enough! Have made 4 already because anyone who tries it, has to have one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Smith Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Simply delicious, creamy & perfect for a hot summer day. I used 3 Hass Avocados, 1 pkg of Neufchtel Cream cheese (1/3 less fat)& 2 T Lemon freshly squeezed. Using less lemon so the flavor of the avocado stayed dominant. Topped with lite whipped cream...excellent. Had some filling left over filled dessert glasses & topped with whipped cream & a few sprinkles of grated lemon rind. Yummy & elegant looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leemm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Very good. I didn't expect avocado to be so good as a dessert. I would recommend this to anyone who likes things tart & tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Absolutely AWESOME! I accidentally put twice the amount of condensed milk, and it was yummy and sweet even still! Must say that my accident kind of drown out the avodaco flavor, but it was of course still just a sweet and tart pie. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States