Avocado Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I served this in those little phyllo tartlet things from the freezer section. Then I topped with a dab of homemade whipped cream, then zested orange on top. Talk about easy and delicious!!!! They were a huge hit at the party I took them to. For easy transportation I scooped all of the filling into a gallon size ziplock, and cut off an end when I got to the party. Assembly was effortless, and it looked so elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Like other reviewers said, I added a brick of cream cheese and used a larger can of condensed milk. I also didn't want it too lemony so I used 1/4 cup lemon juice. Was great with the modifications!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NanaBrookes
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I loved this! I'm a HUGE avocado fan (love them in guacamole, smoothies, and perhaps most of all plain), so I made this dessert over the summer but forgot to review it. It was delicious, very fruity due to the lemon juice, but with that rich avocado undertone, and that's my kind of dessert. And it was definitely one of the easiest, quickest desserts I've ever made. As other reviewers suggested, I added in some cream cheese. However, I think I would have preferred it had I simply followed the original recipe. Next time, I'll leave out the cheese. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaBrookes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This pie was quite tasty. My boyfriend and I made it with a homemade regular pie crust which work fairly well. We also used lime juice in place of the lemon, and I think next time we make it that we will cut down on the citrus juice, I felt that there was to much in it and over powered the subtle avocado. I also want to try it with the actual graham cracker crust, I think it would a nice little sweetness to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I love avocados and maybe because I was expecting it to taste like avocados, I was disappointed. I made this for a gathering of lady friends and we all agreed it was more like a creamy key lime pie than avocado. You probably need the lemon juice to keep the avocado green, but it overpowers the delicate avocado taste. Good, just not enough avocado flavor. Maybe more avocado, less juice? Not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I followed the instructions exactly. The filling was sloppy and no one liked the flavor. Some finished their 1 piece, others couldn't even do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
A show-stealer every time, and takes about 5 minutes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Absolutely loved it! Made some alterations of course. I used lime juice instead of lemon juice, 4ounces of cream cheese,and added a 14ounce can of condensed milk.It was a little too rich for my blender...but I finally got it blended smoothly. I tried it the next day and it was wonderful. I served it to my family and introduced it as Key lime pie...they did not notice the difference and loved it! I later told them the truth and they were astonished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
When I made this, I started with 1/4 cup lemon juice but after tasting it, I realized it needed the full 1/2 called for in the recipe. Unfortunately, the amount of lemon necessary almost overpowered the avocado flavor. I think this would be much better as a cake filling. I suspected that it would be INCREDIBLY intense/rich, and I was right; I personally couldn't eat more than a spoonful. I can't imagine eating this as a straight-up pie without anything to offset the richnesss. It's a strange recipe; not BAD strange, just strange. I think it could be stellar in the right context.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Amazing!! I replaced the lemon juice w/ lime juice. It turned out like a more subtle key lime pie only w a hint of Avacado (genious!). I have always liked key lime pie only I've always thought it was too strong, this fixes it all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Talbot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States