Avocado Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Delicious with a luscious texture when prepared just as written. I like to mix in a little lemon or lime zest and serve with strawberry coulis and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I'd recommend doubling the recipe, as this recipe doesn't fill up the pie pan very much - I added my own topping of sour cream mixed with a little bit of powdered sugar (use your own judgement on how much of each) and it made the pie even better :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyfever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This is easy and scrumtious. Stick to the recipe. I tried to make it taste more like avacado...did not go well. Tastes like keylime great texture yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SadieLynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Rating this a 4 simply because I'm willing to try it again. Overall, i don't think i was sold on how it came out the first time. 2 year olds opinion: "banana??" she liked it Husband: "Less lemon more condensed milk please?" he wasn't a huge fan 8 month old: "Mmmm." she wanted more..but to much dairy to give her more. ME: it was ok. willing to make a second and third time. I would like to try it with less lemon and more condenced milk (for my husband). I would also like to use the otherall idea and see about making a nonebake keylime/avocado cheesecake out of it. The pie itself tasted ALOT like a keylime pie, but with hints of avocado. I used a chocolate gram crust because a reg one wasn't available at the store. doesn't store for long periods well. should be eaten right away. ohh.. it doesn't specify what kind of avocado works best. I used 1 of the large ones. i believe it was a 'west indies' type. I chose this type of avocado based on its smooth sweet taste. Hass tend to have a little bit more bitter and less sweetness to them (though I like them much better). I assumed the recipe meant 2 of the smaller Hass avocado? but i'm not sure. I would like to try it with a few Hass and see if i like the pie better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Didn't set right. Super tart. Will try another avocado pie recipe that calls for less lemon juice & avocado, and more sweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PitBoss007
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
My bf, who loves avocados, was a little apprehensive. But after tasting the mixture he couldn't wait to eat the chilled pie. I purchased individual crusts and filled those. I used most of the mix. Topped with banana and strawberry, this dessert was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
It tastes like a creamy lime pie. Yummo! I didn't tell the kids it had avocado until after they ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
My kids refused to eat this....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Delicous. I topped it with real whipped cream. It tasted better when chilled longer. I got up in the middle of the night and had another piece. I used a Honey Maid graham cracker crust which I think made the difference. I have used store brands before and they weren't as good. I used the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States