Avocado Peanut Butter Brownies (Vegan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
As written, this recipe is OFF. I should know, made this recipe 3x. I know most would have stopped at once. But I really wanted this recipe to work & after the third time, it finally did. As written, the recipe, is gritty, oily & a flop. BUT the flavor is there & that's why I took such an interest in perfecting this recipe. When making the recipe the 1st time, a huge issue, don't let the recipe start bubbling, the sugar does not break down or melt in with the chocolate and peanut butter, like you think it would. And if you let the mixture bubbly, you will get an aroma of burnt peanuts. Not a good thing. And I was on that pot like a hawk. Even the 2nd time around, same thing. The other thing is that there was soo much oil at even 1/2 cup with the amount of sugar, the oil never retain & oozed to the point that it was frying the sugar as it was baking in the pan & causing the gritty-ness that you could feel, taste and see. Both 1st two batches, glopped, couldn't be cut into squares, even completely cooled due to the excess of oil. When making the 3rd batch by cutting the oil to 1/4 cup, became a batch of brownies. It still had a slight oily residue left but no where near the 1st two batches. I can tell you, the oil might be even lowered to 2-3 TBSPs but as for modifying this recipe to make it work..lower the oil or you won't have a successful batch to enjoy. The 3rd batch was awesome! Glad I was persistant and got to enjoy a batch! As is 0 stars, as modified 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I'm not vegan, but wondering why white sugar is included in this recipe? I'm pretty sure that is not an acceptable form of sweetener for vegans, due to the charcoal used in the manufacturing. I use vegan recipes to specifically avoid white sugar, but found it here. Please correct me if I'm wrong! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIGNOUTLOUD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
First of all, I did not make this recipe because it was vegan, I made it because it is a Myplate sponsored recipe. After reading the reviews, I decided to leave the oil out entirely. The recipe author said that the avocado replaced butter in this recipe, so I couldn't wrap my head around the need for any more oil if it was a replacement for oil. There is enough "oil" with the combination of the avocado, peanut butter and chocolate chips. Next, I halved the recipe and made it in an 8x8 baking dish. I used regular 1% milk in place of the soy milk (Again, not looking for this to be vegan) and doubled the amount called for. I didn't bother with "cooking the chocolate, sugar and pb until bubbly like candy"...I simply melted the pb with the chocolate chips in the microwave. I think cooking melted chocolate chips to this degree of heat would cause the chocolate to seize, giving you a gritty texture. I used my magic bullet to combine the milk and the avocado and then combined the rest of the ingredients in a large bowl (including the sugar, which I reduced to 1/2 cup for half this recipe). I added the melted chocolate/pb, the avocado/milk, a 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract and the flour mixture together and combined until just mixed. I baked them for about 20 -25 minutes in an 8x8" pan and they came out really nice. Not greasy at all. Smooth and fudgy. With my changes, it's a 4 star, but giving it a 3 star because clearly, as written, something is not right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
These were OK the day that they were made but seemed really greasy and crumbly. However, they were incredible after refrigeration. Great flavor and texture after being in the fridge. Really rich and fudgy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
awyumsome!I am dabbling to exchange somO the sugar , I'm gonna try some honey next ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Since the first review I wrote has mysteriously disappeared, I will try again. As written this recipe is just this side of indelible. If the avocado is to replace butter then why add oil? As I originally stated, I melted my peanutbutter chocolate mixture slowly, in a double boiler and reduced the sugar to 1 cup. This will eliminate the graininess. 3/4 cup of sugar is probably enough. All in all, I am surprised this recipe is included in the My Plate collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This recipe was absolutely AMAZING. As other reviewers suggested, I nixed the oil completely. I also only used 1 cup of brown sugar and no salt ("healthy" brownies) and I used almond milk instead of soy. HEAVENLY. I only recently started cooking vegan, so I know what normal brownies taste like. These are comparable if not better! And less guilty! They're perfectly flavored, extremely moist but not too heavy, and delightfully fudgey. I could rave on! Mine are only 245 calories a brownie. I will definitely be making these again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Holy moly! these were great. I used a bit less than a cup of sugar, used AP flour, and omitted the oil entirely. totally yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States