Avocado Olive Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I want to just take this and blend it all together mashed up as a dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
If you love avocado as I do and cannot find enough different ways of eating it, you will love this. It is awesomely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bweisz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This was a nice, different way to enjoy avocado! I used a mix of kalamata and green olives, in place of regular black olives, which gave this a nice tang. I had to omit the capers b/c I didn't have any, but the olives made up for the lost flavor. I also used white basalmic vinegar in place of regular. I would def make this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
We really liked this, however, I used a green olive tampanade from the jar instead of the black. Delicious and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This makes a great side dish, but I don't think anyone would want to eat more than a small serving because it is very strong. But it is super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This is a very simple but tasy recipe. I don't like capers, so these were omitted. Instead I used canned artichoke hearts, drained and sliced in half. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This was pretty tangy and a little bit sweet. I used a whole can of olives (20 was about half a can), and instead of dumping 1/2 cup of cheese into the salad, I grated a small amount over each serving (more would have been too rich for me). Because I didn't use as much cheese, I added more salt. I think this would probably be best tossed with greens--especially arugula. Next time, I'll add a few more capers. I'll probably use the dressing for other salads, as well. UPDATE: I made this again and increased the capers, used only 1 lime, omitted the cheese, and tossed it with arugula. Even better! I think the biggest difference was reducing the lime juice--much less puckering, and the salad didn't seem as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Really easy. A little tangy but still very good. Replace the capers with artichokes for a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
My mother and I tried this recipe out and, like others I see here, found it to be delicious but intense. As it turns out, neither of us are a big fan of capers so next time we substituted them for 8oz of cheese-filled tortellini to balance the dish. This makes a perfect flavorful side or, add more pasta or chopped chicken and you've got a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I had to adjust this recipe becuase I did not have everything on hand, used white wine vinegar and a little lemon juice with the oil added garlic powder and red onion and salt and pepper, skipped the parmesan. It was really good, after it was in the fridge for a day and the avocados were really soft I used it as a sandwich spread, mushed it on a hard kaiser roll with Black Forest Ham, it was excellent. Even my skeptical hubby said it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States