Avocado Olive Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This was a nice, different way to enjoy avocado! I used a mix of kalamata and green olives, in place of regular black olives, which gave this a nice tang. I had to omit the capers b/c I didn't have any, but the olives made up for the lost flavor. I also used white basalmic vinegar in place of regular. I would def make this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
If you love avocado as I do and cannot find enough different ways of eating it, you will love this. It is awesomely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bweisz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I want to just take this and blend it all together mashed up as a dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Wonderful salad, has a nice flavor. Will surely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I had to adjust this recipe becuase I did not have everything on hand, used white wine vinegar and a little lemon juice with the oil added garlic powder and red onion and salt and pepper, skipped the parmesan. It was really good, after it was in the fridge for a day and the avocados were really soft I used it as a sandwich spread, mushed it on a hard kaiser roll with Black Forest Ham, it was excellent. Even my skeptical hubby said it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
My mother and I tried this recipe out and, like others I see here, found it to be delicious but intense. As it turns out, neither of us are a big fan of capers so next time we substituted them for 8oz of cheese-filled tortellini to balance the dish. This makes a perfect flavorful side or, add more pasta or chopped chicken and you've got a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Really easy. A little tangy but still very good. Replace the capers with artichokes for a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
We really liked this, however, I used a green olive tampanade from the jar instead of the black. Delicious and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This was pretty tangy and a little bit sweet. I used a whole can of olives (20 was about half a can), and instead of dumping 1/2 cup of cheese into the salad, I grated a small amount over each serving (more would have been too rich for me). Because I didn't use as much cheese, I added more salt. I think this would probably be best tossed with greens--especially arugula. Next time, I'll add a few more capers. I'll probably use the dressing for other salads, as well. UPDATE: I made this again and increased the capers, used only 1 lime, omitted the cheese, and tossed it with arugula. Even better! I think the biggest difference was reducing the lime juice--much less puckering, and the salad didn't seem as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This is a very simple but tasy recipe. I don't like capers, so these were omitted. Instead I used canned artichoke hearts, drained and sliced in half. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States