Avocado Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
The avocado turned brown almost immediately and definitely lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adan
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
At first when I made this, it was not as I expected. By the time all of the sauce was blended, the noodles and sauce were cold. I mixed it all together and heated it in the oven at 375 for 15 minutes to heat it up. Slightly overpowering avocado, recommend to add more cheese and not double the spices as other reviews have recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I recently tried this recipe & unfortunately I was not a fan. Overall, it was very bland and not so tasty, not to mention if you have leftovers and know what happens to avocados after cut open and not eaten right away. This recipe below was healthy & yummy: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/cheesy-butternut-squash-pasta-sauce/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
U better like avacados! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I loved it. I did the recipe pretty much as written except I used dried parsley only cause I didn't have fresh, and omitted the chives because I don't have any. I added some leftover venison meat which added some needed saltiness. Overall I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey Cyr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I made it as is, re-made it as suggested by other reviewers. Imagine bland guacamole mixed with bland Mac'n'cheese. Not worth it unless you change the type of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I followed this recipe pretty much to the letter, and I would not change a thing, I did use Cooper Sharp cheese and the flavor was awesome! I think a good sharp cheddar cheese makes this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a good recipe to really mess around with - I liked my finished product but I definitely didn't follow the recipe after reading the reviews. I added in some sour cream and feta cheese to make it a little creamier (and of course less healthy -ha) and I left out the nutmeg because I forgot. I added in some vegetable broth for extra flavor, also. I just dumped everything in a dish and stirred in the avocados because I couldn't find the top to my blender. I really liked this, as I said, but I did make quite a few changes. I liked the consistency, however, and it was a fairly quick weeknight meal. I'm going to continue to experiment with this because I feel like it has potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by ItalianSpice
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Yeah. Just ok for me as far as the original recipe goes. I definitely listened to the suggestions on here! I doubled the spices and then it was still lacking for me. So, I added about 1 1/2 c of sour cream and drizzled lemon juice and added pepper. MUCH better!! I would try this again but also add a little more cheese. I still got the buttery taste and texture from the avocado that I love. So, not great but definitely a good starting off point to rework.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Photo by Terry E.
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Like everyone else I doubled the spices and added a few red pepper flakes but also added a teaspoon of chicken soup base to the pot for hopefully another layer of flavor. (it was very bland up to this point.) The cup of flat parsley does give it that Avocado color green which is why I believe it's there, but on the other hand a cup of blended flat parsley leaves turns the whole concoction into more of a pesto-ish pasta dish instead of a cheesy comfort food which is what I was hoping for. I don't think I will make this again but use it as inspiration for a whole new recipe because I love the idea of Avocado Mac and Cheese. Just didn't think this one was what I had in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States