Avocado Irish Cream Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Very Yummy! Mine came out too wet, but it may have been the size of my avocados. Tastes great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
followed the recipe to a T.. the fudge sets up nicely but had a weird slimey texture.. if you stick a whole bit in your mouth you may not notice but not a recipe I want to share...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I have been baking for a while, but this was my first attempt at fudge. I tried another recipe where a vegetable was the 'secret' and main ingredient, but it didn't turn out so well.... Thankfully, this Avocado Irish Cream Fudge redeemed me. You can't tastes or even tell that there is avocado in this at all. And the Irish cream is barely noticeable- just a hint of flavor; I wouldn't have known it was in there except that I made it (which is good because I don't like alcohol). As others have noted, it is imperative to fully blend the avocado. I don't have an immersion blender, so I used my regular ol' blender plus an electric mixer, and that worked fine. (I'm sure the immersion blender does a better job, though.) Also as others have said, a fully ripe avocado is necessary for this recipe to be the right consistency. Finally, I found that you really need to be sure that the fudge heats enough. I failed to leave it on the stove top for long enough (or perhaps the heat was too low), so it came out kind of grainy. On my second try heating the fudge long/high enough, there was much improvement: though I will probably use less sugar next time because the texture was still somewhat grainy, I felt. All in all, a great dessert and one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vicenza, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Wow, I am amazed that this works! I halved the recipe as a trial run, but I will definately make a whole batch next year. The slightly Irish Cream flavor is very unique, but my favorite part is that it uses avocado instead of marshmallow cream, AND you don't need a candy thermometer. I also like that it uses cocoa powder instead of a ton of chocolate chips. I can tell you grew up outside of the US and have learned to adapt to available ingredients! Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
The texture of this fudge is very creamy which makes it quite good. However, - fiund it entirly too sweet. I will nake this again with half the confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Really rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
oved this recipe very creamy with no avacado taste btw did u try the oat log recipe and how did it turn out?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Youngcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Very smooth and creamy! You don't taste the avocado! You can smell, but not taste the Irish Cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I made this recipe for our Saint Fatness Day party this weekend, and it came out great! I made sure most people tried it before asking them to guess the secret ingredient. People were guessing raisins, dates, nuts, etc. and then someone finally said "avocado?" and I couldn't help but grin. The only difficult part was blending the avocados, because one wasn't ripe enough. It is critical to use ripe avocados for this! Mixing in the cocoa was a bit challenging, but surprisingly became easier as the confectioner's sugar was added. The fudge became very dark and thick in the end, and I used an 8x8 pan with wax paper instead of a 9x11. I refrigerated the fudge overnight, and then ran the bottom of the glass pan under hot water and used a spatula to get it! The Irish cream (I used Bailey's) gives it a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
The important thing with this recipe is to make sure your avocados are very ripe and to make sure you have medium avocados. I've made it before with very large avocados and it came out gooey. (We actually used that batch to melt pieces of it into milk for the most amazing, creamy hot cocoa!) And if your avocados are too tiny it will be harder as one reviewer found. If all your grocery store has is very small avocados I might use 2 1/2 or 3. PLEASE NOTE: IF YOU SEE GREEN IN YOUR FUDGE AT ALL THEN YOU HAVE NOT MADE THIS RECIPE CORRECTLY!!! The avocado should be FULLY incorporated and the fudge should be completely smooth with no lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Home Town: Repulse Bay, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States