Avocado Green Goddess Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I LOVE creamy, savory dressings but they are loaded with fat and salt. I took the advise of reviewer Sabra Bartlett and subbed all that mayo with Greek yogurt and non-fat sour cream. I also used anchovy paste (so happy to have used the rest of what I had!) in place of the anchovy fillets. I then thinned it a bit with white wine vinegar. YUMMO!! Absolutely delicious. Zero guilt and nothing to repent for at the gym tomorrow! Thanks so much for a much better dressing than the dreaded vinegrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHULA_MIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Made this with capers and no avocado and no salt. OMG delish. Should have doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This recipe is just OK. I suggest adding Tarragon or Tarragon vinegar. Reduce the Mayo, and anchovie and add some sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polyhistor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Not what I want for a salad dressing... Prepared as listed, it was thick, heavy, and somewhat muddy... I felt like I wasted a good avocado... would have enjoyed my salad with chunks of avocado instead of whizzed into the dressing... the third night, I added more lemon juice, garlic, olive oil, blk and cayenne peppers, and some Parmesan... and enjoyed it way more....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is a great dip or salad dressing if you add a little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Delicious! I made this substituting 1/2 c. fat free sour cream and 1/2 c buttermilk. Superb! DH loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I have made this recipe MANY times and have given it to many family members and guests. I only use homemade dressings and this is in our regular rotation! Thanks for a wonderful salad dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
If I had prepared this exactly as the recipe directed I know I wouldn't have liked it. All mayonnaise (no buttermilk or sour cream) and five anchovy filets did not appeal to me. That was easy enough to fix, however, by using equal parts mayonnaise, sour cream and buttermilk, then thinning it out with more buttermilk until it was the consistency I desired. A dab of anchovy paste rather than five anchovy filets worked better for me. Finally, 2-3 tablespoons of a mixture of parsley, green onion, thyme, tarragon and dill gave this a more complex, full-bodied flavor. With these changes, I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This dressing is excellent and definitely one that you can tweak to your personal liking. I do not like anchovies, so I skipped them. Instead of green onion, I added red onion. As per other suggestions, I substituted 1/2 cup mayo, 1/3 cup whole milk and 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar. I used 2 extremely ripe avocados and the juice of a whole lemon. 3 cloves garlic, salt and finally added a little dill. It's chilling in my refrigerator now, but I tasted it right from the blender, and it was delicious!!! I love making my own dressings because there is so much fake stuff in dressings today, and this has become one of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I usually make oil based salad dressing, but thought goddess sounded good; also I had an avocado to spare. TOO much mayonnaise. I tried thinning out with olive oil, extra salt and lemon juice...but not my flavor. If you don't really LOVE mayo don't make this...if you love it, there is more of this dressing in the world for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Green Goddess Dressing

See how to make creamy, herby Green Goddess dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States