Avocado Green Goddess Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
MY BAD. I made this 'LITE'...As usual, I put my own spin on this; but overall, delish! Instead of all the mayo, I used 1/4 cup lite mayo and 3/4 cup plain stirred yogurt. Chopped fine some celery in addition to the green onions, and then added some fresh cilantro at the end. Let the flavours marry in fridge!OMG! Tasty AND HEALTHY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicgeek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Good recipe - I made some modifications. I left out the anchovies. I decreased the amount of mayo to about a little less than 1/2 cup and used reduces fat mayo. I increased the lemon juice to about 2 tbsp. and added a pinch of sugar to cut the tartness a bit. I also added some freshly chopped basil to it. It is a very thick dressing so you don't need a lot to cover the salad. I made it about 1 hour before I served the salad. I used it on a romaine salad with red onions, shredded carrots and chopped mixed peppers. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I made it with half mayo, half sour cream, and a couple more anchovies. It was a little bit thick but I just ended up using it as a dip. SO good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Taking the reviews into consideration, the only thing I changed was the mayo. Instead of 1 cup, I used 2/3 cup mayo and 1/3 cup sour cream. Man, this is the BEST dressing...creamy, flavorful, no fishy taste. Just outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSKREMSER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This dressing tastes good and is very refreshing if you chill it in the fridge. After reading the other reviews, I made this with sour cream (low-fat) instead of mayo and added some low-fat buttermilk to thin it out. I increased the avacado and green onion as well. I served it on a salad of romaine with hard boiled eggs, and very crisp bacon like one reviewer suggested. FYI this has a pretty strong anchovy taste, so beware of using extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Great dressing. I just used plain yogurt for the mayonaise and added a little water otherwise it would be to thick. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
This dressing was easy and really yummy! I used sour cream instead of mayo and it was still thick so i thinned with Buttermilk till the consistency was right, about 2 Tbs. This topped a romaine lettuce salad full of eggs, warm bacon, anchovies, and roasted nuts -- perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
A little messy to make but worth it for the great texture and flavor. Was very good. I improvised a bit by using more avocado, more lemon and less mayonaise and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Very tasty, I'm going to try and substitute sour cream for the mayo and see what happens. This is a great tasting recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Green Goddess Dressing

See how to make creamy, herby Green Goddess dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States