Avocado Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Great way to enjoy avacado. I added a little salt to bring at the flavor a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I love both avocado and egg so I was really looking forward to this. I read all the reviews in advance and so knew that for our tastes I should add celery and bacon as others have suggested. My problem with the recipe is that, in my opinion, the avocado/egg ratio is off. I halved the recipe so started with 3 avocados and 3 chopped eggs. The avocado completely overwhelmed the egg so I ended up adding 3 more chopped eggs to the 3 avocados. That was much more balanced. Even with the addition of celery and bacon, we still felt this was on the bland side. We added in another 1/2 cup of onion and also added several shakes of Louisiana hot sauce to the mayo and milk mixture. Those changes resulted in something quite good, but the original proportions of the recipe were, for us, not the most appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Nice, but nothing special, really
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I liked this - it's SO rich and creamy! But is was a little lacklustre for me as is. It needed more flavor, color, some crunch and some contrast in textures. To begin with, I used green onion rather than red, since that's what I had, but I don't think I would have particularly liked the bite of the red onion anyway (nor, probably, would anyone standing close to me). I added the expected and predictable celery, but I also threw in some cooked, crumbled bacon. Really delicious. I would have loved this on a sandwich but I didn't want to mess with this perfect, low-carb lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Brianna Debra Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Not a strong avocado flavor. With extra lemon juice, more of a tang, which was quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Was pretty good - only needed salt and pepper. I love egg salad and avocados. Leftovers are not good so make just what you can eat right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
it was ok. would have just preferred the egg salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goleta, California, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Fantastic! I think people forget that they should "COOK," rather than just follow this blindly. Just add spices to your taste and it will work just fine. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was really good for lunch and a nice change from turkey sandwiches or tv dinners :) I didn't have red onion but I bet it would be really good with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States