Avocado Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
My daughter had friends over for a sleepover. They wanted egg salad for lunch. I mad this and the typical egg salad. This one was gone before the typical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
It came out pretty well. I had more avocado than egg because I love avocados. I added a little cheese and lettuce and used white onion instead of red. I think red would have made it taste more like guacamole which could be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
The salad came out good. I had people over and I scaled it to more servings (with 9 eggs and 3 avocados). It tastes good, I like avocado, but you can taste eggs. You can't eat a lot of this salad, so I would not suggest to make a lot of it. Although its good to make it for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I added Texas 1015's instead of the red onions. We loved it. When storing for left overs place plastic wrap driectly on top and press down lightly. This will help with the discoloration of the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Floydada, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was surprisingly delicious. The color was weird and only got weirder as leftovers, but if you can get past that and give it a taste, you'll forgive the appearance immediately. I did not have a fresh red onion, so used dried chopped onions instead. The sweet pickles really made the dish, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This is pretty good sandwich spread, even minus the sweet pickles. Might even be better without it. Thanks for the idea. Made my avocado go a long ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Didn't have any red onion so I subbed celery. Don't buy sweet pickles, so I used dill. Always have to have a kick when I eat, so I used a bit of Chipoltle Chili Powder. I was very pleasantly surprised with how good this combo was! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was a great way to reduce mayo in egg salad & give it a heightened taste. I used my own recipe but did reduce the light mayo, then added the mashed avacado which I combined with some fresh squeezed lemon juice. Used 12 eggs, 1/2 c mayo, one avacado, 2 Tbls Dijon, 3 Tbsl pickle relish & all my favorite spices plus S&P. Yes, you must add paprika & dill to make it perfect in my opinion! A dash of chipotle red pepper kicks it nicely. Easy & delicious. Served on bed of romaine & croissants to 10 people for luncheon. All loved. Thanks for the avacado idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Much better than regular potato salad. Dill pickels and celery salt were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States