Avocado Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I really like this version of egg salad, although I only had one avocado on hand and didn't have any red onion. It was nice a creamy, but definitely missing something. I'd definitely like to try to make this again with all of the ingredients called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I used dill pickles instead of sweet pickles. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I really liked this as is & it was truly amazing! I wasn't too sure at first, but wow. I did add a splash of lemon juice in hopes of keeping the discoloration at bay. I also followed another reviewer by laying saran wrap directly on the egg salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPLACE73

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I'm not a big fan of raw onions, sweet pickle or avocados but this tasted nice. I think I must have put too much pickle in because mine turned out very brown...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I got the lap band a few months ago and had to be on 2 weeks of liquids and 2 weeks of mushy foods after the surgery. It got old, so I went looking for something new I could do with eggs and avocado. When I saw this recipe I was dubious. Having tasted all these ingredients separately, I just didn't see them tasting good together lol. Boy was I wrong. OMG this is so yummy! Even now that I'm not on mushies anymore, I still make this for lunch weekly. I always try to figure out what makes all these things taste good together, I think it's the sweet pickles. I use a pre-made sweet pickle relish cause I'm lazy lol, it really just ties everything together. So don't doubt it, try it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purse Junkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
My daughter had friends over for a sleepover. They wanted egg salad for lunch. I mad this and the typical egg salad. This one was gone before the typical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
It came out pretty well. I had more avocado than egg because I love avocados. I added a little cheese and lettuce and used white onion instead of red. I think red would have made it taste more like guacamole which could be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
The salad came out good. I had people over and I scaled it to more servings (with 9 eggs and 3 avocados). It tastes good, I like avocado, but you can taste eggs. You can't eat a lot of this salad, so I would not suggest to make a lot of it. Although its good to make it for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I added Texas 1015's instead of the red onions. We loved it. When storing for left overs place plastic wrap driectly on top and press down lightly. This will help with the discoloration of the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Floydada, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was surprisingly delicious. The color was weird and only got weirder as leftovers, but if you can get past that and give it a taste, you'll forgive the appearance immediately. I did not have a fresh red onion, so used dried chopped onions instead. The sweet pickles really made the dish, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefMom

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States