Avocado Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Some say too runny and some suggest they could not taste the avocado? One can use 1/2 cup mild salsa and drain the liquid before mixing. You can reduce the sour cream to 1/2 cup, also. The cumin tends to reduce the taste of the avocado.. so reduce this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I replaced the cumin with cajun and added just a little bit of sea salt. I left out the garlic powder...didnt have it... it turned out pretty good. I have never had avocado before and i liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Very good recipe to start from! I also love avocado so I decreased the amount of sour cream and salsa to 1/4 cup each. I also decreased the cumin and salt to 1/4 tsp and used onion powder instead of garlic powder (just because that is what I had on hand.) Turned out delicious! This is definitely one of those go quick dips. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I loved it! There wasn't too much or too little of any ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
We loved this recipe. It's easy and delicious. I added the juice of 1 lime. That helped with the darkening and added a nice zing to the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Hill Blair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This is delicious, although it looks somewhat less than appetizing. I was tempted to throw in some lemon juice to keep the avocado from turned brownish and darkening the dip, but was afraid it would alter the taste, which was perfect when made as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Metcalf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I added 1 avocado to this recipe and it was fabulous! I have had several people ask where I got this recipe or tell me it is the best guacamole they've ever had! It is spectacular...love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
ME AND MY HUSBAND REALLY ENJOYED THIS DIP .... I USED LESS SALSA AND SOUR CREAM SO IT WOULDN'T BE TO RUNNING AND ADDED ONION...MMM GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This really is quick, easy and delicious. The first time I made it, it was rather runny. So, the second time, I strained the salsa ( I use the fresh kind sold in the supermarket)and the consistency was pefect. Everyone was asking for the recipe.Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Thank you for an inspirational recipe. I have been wanting to make a really good guacamole dip, I came upon your recipe, the sour cream was the key. Using that with other basic ingredients made a reaaly nice dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States