Avocado Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was excellent! I was really curious when I saw the recipe, so I had to try it. Sooo good!. I think maybe the recipe should say one large avacado/two small, because I used one rather small avacado (that's all they had at the store) and the mixture was a little bit soupy and a little on the sweet side, so I think if there was more avacado in the mixture it would have been perfect. It was still really tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This may seem weird to a lot of americans. But being asian, this is a regular dessert for us. I usually don't add the vanilla extract because the ripe avocado has a lot of flavor already. But it's still a good recipe. Everyone should try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Are you kidding me? This is incredible! I have been eating this plain all night, however I bet it would be delish on top of some vanilla ice cream. Take a chance and try this, like I did! You will be amazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
MmmMmm! Avocados were on sale so we bought a whole bunch, and I needed things to make with them. This was very light, super easy, and REALLY good! I made some changes, using soy milk instead of regular milk, and halving the sugar and the vanilla. It was not overpowering at all, but rather just sweet enough! This will probably become one of my regular snacks =).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Delish, Except I felt it needed something else so I added 1/4 cup of cocoa, it turned into a deep creamy chocolatey pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I was shocked!!! It's so good. Of course, I substituted a few things though. I used 1 TBSP of organic maple syrup instead of the sugar. Then, I used almond milk instead of cow's milk. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is weird but good! I "creamed" the avocado with sugar and vanilla extract in a food processor and then gradually added soy milk until it was a pudding consistency. I put some whipped cream on top and its perfect! My husband keeps staring at it like he wants some but he's too weirded out by the green color! I think its a pretty green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hamtown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Awesome! In Indonesia we have this all the time in a tall glass cup drizzled first with chocolate sweetened condensed milk and a few ice cubes blended in. You could try just syrup or cocoa and some sweetened condensed milk. Sometimes I like it just with the avocado and other times I stir in the chocolate from the side and bottom of the cup. I thought it was a weird idea, but love avocados so had to give it a try. I'm glad I did, cause it was yummy and refreshing, and not too sweet. And the avocado oil is really good for you. Soemtimes I blend avocado and vanilla icecream (Costco super premium or Haagen-daaz) and refreeze a few minutes if it is a hot day. I leave a few frozen lumps that taste like butter. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ame2
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Sorry, it's just not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Honey Grove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Yum. I wasn't too fond of the consistency once I mixed it up, so I ended up sticking it in the freezer, stirring about every 20 minutes to make some really super yummy ice cream!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Chocolate Eclair Dessert

See how to make a super-easy, no-bake dessert with instant vanilla pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States