Avocado Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This recipe had too much vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is popular in Asia and once you get over the culture shock, it's very good. I've had a variation of this since I was small: 1/2 avocado, 3/4-1 cup of milk, and condensed milk to taste (the vanilla would compete with the flavour of the avocado). I usually mash it with a spoon so there are still chunks left - I prefer the chunky consistency. Try it! After all, avocados are fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is amazingly good. What I used to do was mixing the avocado with chocolate syrup, a bit of water, and ice cubes, but the chocolate tended to overpower the avocado taste. I used this recipe without adding vanilla, and it was just perfect. Thank you for sharing this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Not a fan of this dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I loved this...2 of my kids did too. I think my other 2 were more put off that i put sugar in with avocados. But I guess you can totally say, you ought to really love avocados to really venture into a treat like this. I make an avocado pie that's a real delight and all my kids truely love that recipe. The kids really were put off with this one. Myself. I totally loved it. I doubled the batch because I needed to use 2 avocados up seriously fast. So as I made this, I added the sugar and extract to the avocados 1st and slowly added the milk in. But as I put it in, I stopped half way, and decided I loved the thickness that was developing rather nicely and didn't add the last 1/2 cup. I used a hand blender, so the texture was smooth and nice. I really and truely loved this recipe. So I'm not sharing with anyone. And I did use a sugar replacement in this recipe for myself. And it work great. Thanks Craig, I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I thought it was a Filipino desert. Instead of sugar I add honey. Has a pleasant flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by darthotto
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Im a huge avocado fan but I am not sure I like it all that much. I tasted it and didnt like it. Then I added some mint leafs and that helped. My 4 year old asked for seconds and my 9 month old cried when it was all gone lol. I just couldnt get my self to finish my serving so I fed it to my baby. I loved the idea tho. I will make this again and add something else to calm the avocado down. Maybe a banana or something. Family loved it but I didnt so it deserves 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I added coconut milk (half coconut, half whole milk) and used brown sugar (about half of the required amount). It was very creamy and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was darn tasty...I didn't put vanilla extract in...just didn't sound like it would fit... and cut way back on the sugar as the avocados are plenty sweet enough..... who would have thought to make a pudding out of avocado :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Simple and delicious! I substituted milk with soy milk and used honey instead of milk and sugar and it was still great. It's hard to make a fruit that tastes like butter to not taste good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ahab

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Chocolate Eclair Dessert

See how to make a super-easy, no-bake dessert with instant vanilla pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States