Avocado Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Yum! I have always loved Indonesian avocado juice but since you use plain milk instead of sweetened condensed milk, it is easier for me to make with left over avocado since I don't usually have condensed milk at home. It also seems a little more nutritious. My kids loved it, too. I made it as per recipe for my 9 month old. It was nice and thick. For my 3 year old I added more milk to make a kind of avocado smoothie. Both loved it, even when I reduced the sugar a bit. I also omitted the vanilla extract as I love the avocado taste. I plan to make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Amazing! I don't know if I can wait the whole 20 min for it to refrigerate. I excluded a tiny bit of the milk. I think Im going to buy more avocados and make it againg tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mtcrloss87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Hmmm this was very different. Kinda yummy and yucky at the same time. On the plus side, my 4 year old loved it.... dipped apple slices in it. Guess it was a good way to sneak avocados in to her;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinlairen
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
not sure......i love avocado, but this was just way too sweet. I seemed to enjoy it mixed with grape nuts. The bitter grain leveled out the sweet. might make again ....?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjpyka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I too grew up in Asia and this is good with shaved ice - sort of like a slushy..but I like it without the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
In the Philippines, avocado is considered a fruit instead of a vegetable --kind of like how tomato is considered a vegetable--so eating it as a dessert vs. an addition to salads or savory things was alien to me until I moved to the US. I prefer it chunky, so I don't bother to puree it. They're also great frozen; when the kids were little, I used to make them into popsicles. (Or check out some Asian stores for Magnolia brand avocado ice cream. Yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Delicious! I used 2 small avocados & it was like a pudding...One large would have made a syrup. You can always just add more milk (I used Vanilla Soy Milk) if it's too thick. Flavor is very good to eat alone or over ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I have always wanted to try eating and using avocados and always strayed away from them, but when I read this recipe it sounded interesting and I decided to give it a whirl. I had one avocado handy and followed the recipe exactly! I loved it! I was so excited about the taste that I decided to make this again for a great snack in between meals! I wouldn't change a thing! I might add more vanilla extract, but the flavor and the consistency to me was great! Thank you so much for this recipe! I am now a firm believer in using avocados for other various dishes! I will be making this again! I truly enjoyed this awesome dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Didn't really dig this recipe. Could've just been me though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miscallaneous

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
yummy!! this was delicious! I read some of the reviews and decided to add the milk and sugar a little at a time untill I had the right consistency. Im always looking for different ways to use veggies for my 3 year old and this was perfect. She agreed, even proclaiming "mmm this is tasty!" Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Chocolate Eclair Dessert

See how to make a super-easy, no-bake dessert with instant vanilla pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States