Avocado Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I loved this! I thought it was fun, unique and refreshing. Other people thought it was just odd, hence the 4 stars instead of 5. If you're on the fence about making it, I'd give it a shot...something different! :) I followed the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Too much sugar and vanilla for my taste, but that can be tweaked. This can also be a way to get kids to eat avocado (just use alot less sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
i loved this!!!!!! I used 1pack sweetand low. I also made it as a cold soup w/out sugar and vanilla and topped with sour cram lemon wedge and cilantro. All ways were great and inspired by this great original recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Yum! I have always loved Indonesian avocado juice but since you use plain milk instead of sweetened condensed milk, it is easier for me to make with left over avocado since I don't usually have condensed milk at home. It also seems a little more nutritious. My kids loved it, too. I made it as per recipe for my 9 month old. It was nice and thick. For my 3 year old I added more milk to make a kind of avocado smoothie. Both loved it, even when I reduced the sugar a bit. I also omitted the vanilla extract as I love the avocado taste. I plan to make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Amazing! I don't know if I can wait the whole 20 min for it to refrigerate. I excluded a tiny bit of the milk. I think Im going to buy more avocados and make it againg tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mtcrloss87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Hmmm this was very different. Kinda yummy and yucky at the same time. On the plus side, my 4 year old loved it.... dipped apple slices in it. Guess it was a good way to sneak avocados in to her;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinlairen
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
not sure......i love avocado, but this was just way too sweet. I seemed to enjoy it mixed with grape nuts. The bitter grain leveled out the sweet. might make again ....?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjpyka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I too grew up in Asia and this is good with shaved ice - sort of like a slushy..but I like it without the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
In the Philippines, avocado is considered a fruit instead of a vegetable --kind of like how tomato is considered a vegetable--so eating it as a dessert vs. an addition to salads or savory things was alien to me until I moved to the US. I prefer it chunky, so I don't bother to puree it. They're also great frozen; when the kids were little, I used to make them into popsicles. (Or check out some Asian stores for Magnolia brand avocado ice cream. Yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Delicious! I used 2 small avocados & it was like a pudding...One large would have made a syrup. You can always just add more milk (I used Vanilla Soy Milk) if it's too thick. Flavor is very good to eat alone or over ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Chocolate Eclair Dessert

See how to make a super-easy, no-bake dessert with instant vanilla pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States