Avocado Chicken Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
not bad. I made them with mild salsa. They are still lacking a little something to make them pop....I think I will try adding a little jalepeno and cilantro next time. As noted in previous reviews they don't hold together nicely when sliced. I did better with making them as a burrito type thing for lunch and NOT slicing them. And avacado turns when it sits out so I think guacamole with the acid/lime in it would add both flavor and keep it prettier looking. So...good place to start but needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
It's 2:50 AM and I started my review at 2:15 and just as a finished it lost the page!!! But amazingly no bad words passed threw my mouth. HALLELU-YAH! So hear again I start my review. This recipe sounds great but it didn't mention my favorite herb...CILANTRO!!!! (you can find it in the produce department near the parsley) I use it in almost every dish. If you haven't tried it yet here are some (what I think)are some terrific places places to use it. green salads, eggs, fruit salads and certainly this yummy wrap recipe. What I also use on my fruit salad is something called"Cajin fruit seasoning". If you can't find it, you can use any creole seasoning or chille powder. Here's also a little hint to save you some penny's. When you need to buy corrindro, tumeric, chilli powder, garlic etc. go to the International section. Go to the foods from India and the Oriential products. The quality is better and they are much less expensive. Well, that's about all for now, hoping that this information helps and that it can enhance your cooking experience. Happy Cooking, IleneFaith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This was delicious but messy, and hard to get the wraps to keep their shape. I used 1/2 cup black bean and corn salsa, added 1/3 cup black beans and then served it as a dip with tortilla chips the second time around. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Pretty decent, definitely a simple recipe. Folks really liked it- I used the BBQ sauce, not the salsa. It would probably be much better with salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
My son, who doesn't eat anything, loves this. Don't make it with the BBQ sauce. You can add a can of rinsed and drained black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Made with BBQ sauce and used prepared guacamole the second time instead of just avacado at the request of my family. We will have this periodically as everyone likes it, even the baby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Looking for a healthy quick lunch for the kids and I. 12 and 10 yr. old liked, 8 not so much. I thought it was okay. I used 1/2 bbq and 1/2 ranch as per kid's request. Needs more avacado if you're making 4. There is not enough "meat" in one to put 3 tbs. on each tortilla. Will do again and experiment w/ different sauces. Used sliced, packaged deli chicken. Very easy, not bad. Chopped grilled would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
These tasted really good. I used leftover shredded and seasoned chicken, added a can of black beans, added a little bit of leftover shredded cheese and used salsa instead of bbq. The only problem was they were hard to slice and keep together. Took them to a work function and everyone loved them. I think a few people were put off by the avacado getting dark once they sat out for a little while. As a whole, they were enjoyed and fairly easy to make. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
After reading all the reviews, I changed this recipe a bit. I melted a bit of blue cheese with sweet baby rays bbq sauce and then added an equal amount of ranch dressing to make the sauce. I also added red onion and tomato to the chicken mixture. It went over very well and even made a good lunch the next day wrapped in lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Really good either way, salsa or bbq sauce. I used spicy salsa, for a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States