Avocado Blast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I was very skeptical about this recipe. I've always eaten avacados in guacamole or as a sandwich spread...but never in a "dessert" form. Suprisingly enough, this was really good. Very rich and creamy. My husband was actually the one who made this for me. This is how he grew up eating avacados...so he considers them to be like a fruit rather than a vegetable. We didn't add the sugar or the other ingredients...only avacados and condensed milk. All I can say is "don't knock it till ya try it!" Thanks L.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
avocado milkshakes are actually a very popular indonesian beverage. it's usually topped with chocolate sauce. caution: this drink is highly addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
very interesting, indeed. i liked it, but added more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I never would have guessed this would be good! I was looking for something to do with a couple of avocados before they were over-ripe and found this. I used heavy whipping cream cuz that's what I had, and I threw in a banana for kicks as well as some plain yogurt...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I wish this recipe turned out great because of the orginality of such a recipe, but it just did not do it for me. I love avacados and sweetened condensed milk, but not together. But, Thanks for giving me a chance to try something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
I grew up with avocado milkshakes. However, we always put vanilla ice cream in ours, so I just added a few scoops. Very good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
As a unabashed avocado junkie, I was hopeful. When the shake came out the consistency of pudding, I triple checked the recipe to make sure I wasn't missing some liquid, shrugged, and served it in bowls. My 3-year-old and I had the same reaction. Our initial enthusiam diminished in direct proportion to the quantity consumed. Some ingredient (milk powder?) left a perceptible micro-crunchiness I could feel in my molars. Perhaps we would have enjoyed it more if we hadn't tried it solo. I really liked the creaminess of the avocado and appreciate the idea of adding it to other smoothies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
was good...my 10mnth daughter thought so too...the after taste not so much though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This was great - and I'm not an avocado fan at all. I left out the dry milk and it was just fine. Really complements a tangy, spicy meal as it's blandly sweet in an avocado-y way - had it with marinated steak, asparagus, and stuffed portabello mushrooms and it was really refreshing during the meal. Thanks for a unique drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

All about Avocado

Sliced, diced, mashed, or whipped, avocados offer smooth texture and mild flavor.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States