Avocado Blast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Pretty good. I used splenda and fresh mint in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harquail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
this was very good! i didn't have all the ingredients... (aka sweetened condensed milk and milk powder)... so i tried my best to substitute .... may have put a little too much sweetener in ..... but it was VERY good! very rich and smooth =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederic, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I have not tried this recipe but wanted to share how we make it in southern Brazil: just blend some avocado with milk and sugar to taste. You freeze the milk or add a little bit of ice if you prefer it super cold. It's creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I am an avocado fanatic and so I thought I would absolutely love this. I omitted the dry milk and added regular milk and really liked the consistency. The flavor was ok. I think my brain is so programmed to eat the avocado as a savory food and not a sweet food, that it made this shake really odd. I think if I drink enough of them, I could get used to it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I saw this recipe and knew I had to try it, but I did not have many of the ingredients... So this is what I did for 1 portion: 1 avocado 1 c milk 1 c ice 2 tsp sugar 1 tsp vanilla extract The result was like a creamy milkshake with a slight hint of avocado. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
was good...my 10mnth daughter thought so too...the after taste not so much though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
At first I loved it and couldn't get enough, but then all of a sudden it was just TOO much avocado in one dose. I LOVE avocados but I could not stomach much of this. I think it was all the sweetness. I dipped some fresh fruit in it to try and eat it up. It was a good idea for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as it called for and it made an excellent PUDDING. For a milkshake consistency, add milk, more ice, more sweet condensed milk and omit milk powder. However, this sacrifices the avocado flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I substituted the milk powder with regular milk and it turned out really good. My mom used to make this for me all the time; it's very popular among the Vietnamese who usually drizzle their avocados with condensed milk or eat it with sugar. I heard the Indonesians also do the same thing except they drizzle Hershey's syrup down the side of the glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I did not use dry milk. It was very creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zary125

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

All about Avocado

Sliced, diced, mashed, or whipped, avocados offer smooth texture and mild flavor.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States