Avocado, Beet and Arugula Salad with Chevre Tartine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was SO good. I made it with garlic and herb goats cheese, white balsamic vinegar, and sliced almonds as that's what I had on hand. Absolutely delicious. Will definitely make again. Thanks so much, Kat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Did it as an appetizer for our Christmas meal - was a hit! Only minor change was the fact that we had more hardened goat cheese and therefore cut it into slices to place on the nut bread slices - then shook basil on the slices. As usual, all I could find was avocado that wasn't ripe enough (too hard - only used 1). Very, very nice - will do again - (ripen them at home on the counter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This was excellent--light and very tasty. French hubby and I both loved it. I used pine nuts instead of hazelnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Was a hit at my dinner party, salad dressing was flavourful yet light and the perfect color combimation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myla
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Excellent salad! I did not make the tartine, but rather compiled the salad and then crumbled the cheese on top. I also used pecans instead of hazelnuts, and all arugula instead of a mix. The flavor is outstanding-- the sweetness of the beets blends very well with the tartness of the cheese. The avocado and pecans make it rich and decadent. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcmeg12
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Great salad dressing. Some variations: I used regular lettuce, since I didn't have arugula, sunflower seeds that I toasted in the oven while I was making the tartines, and added about a teaspoon of the beet juice to the dressing. I felt the salad lacked texture, so half way through eating, added cucumber slices. Also, I'm not sure the basil is a great compliment of the other flavors. I don't know what would be better, but I was a little turned off by the combination of goat cheese and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I left out the tartine and just made the salad, which was very flavorful. I used raw, grated beets; otherwise I followed the salad recipe exactly. The avocados and beets went well together, and the simple dressing was a perfect complement. If you don't want to make the tartine, you can just toss some crumbled goat cheese into the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Yum, yum, yum. I made this as a starter to our meal. Next time I'm skipping the "dinner" course and eating more of this one. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This is a 3+ - quite edible, but for all the work just not worth the effort. The bruschetta topping that Trader Joe's sells is better - factor in your time and it's cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Super Yumm-a-licious! I skipped the tartine (goat cheese is expensive!) and just spread some alouette on water crackers for a side-crunch. This salad makes me want to have ladies over for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States