Avocado, Beet and Arugula Salad with Chevre Tartine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was SO good. I made it with garlic and herb goats cheese, white balsamic vinegar, and sliced almonds as that's what I had on hand. Absolutely delicious. Will definitely make again. Thanks so much, Kat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Did it as an appetizer for our Christmas meal - was a hit! Only minor change was the fact that we had more hardened goat cheese and therefore cut it into slices to place on the nut bread slices - then shook basil on the slices. As usual, all I could find was avocado that wasn't ripe enough (too hard - only used 1). Very, very nice - will do again - (ripen them at home on the counter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This was excellent--light and very tasty. French hubby and I both loved it. I used pine nuts instead of hazelnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Was a hit at my dinner party, salad dressing was flavourful yet light and the perfect color combimation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myla
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Excellent salad! I did not make the tartine, but rather compiled the salad and then crumbled the cheese on top. I also used pecans instead of hazelnuts, and all arugula instead of a mix. The flavor is outstanding-- the sweetness of the beets blends very well with the tartness of the cheese. The avocado and pecans make it rich and decadent. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcmeg12
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Great salad dressing. Some variations: I used regular lettuce, since I didn't have arugula, sunflower seeds that I toasted in the oven while I was making the tartines, and added about a teaspoon of the beet juice to the dressing. I felt the salad lacked texture, so half way through eating, added cucumber slices. Also, I'm not sure the basil is a great compliment of the other flavors. I don't know what would be better, but I was a little turned off by the combination of goat cheese and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I left out the tartine and just made the salad, which was very flavorful. I used raw, grated beets; otherwise I followed the salad recipe exactly. The avocados and beets went well together, and the simple dressing was a perfect complement. If you don't want to make the tartine, you can just toss some crumbled goat cheese into the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Yum, yum, yum. I made this as a starter to our meal. Next time I'm skipping the "dinner" course and eating more of this one. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This is a 3+ - quite edible, but for all the work just not worth the effort. The bruschetta topping that Trader Joe's sells is better - factor in your time and it's cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Super Yumm-a-licious! I skipped the tartine (goat cheese is expensive!) and just spread some alouette on water crackers for a side-crunch. This salad makes me want to have ladies over for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States