Avocado, Beet and Arugula Salad with Chevre Tartine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This was delicious. I used a spring lettuce mix. My husband loved this salad and so did I. The dressing was very good, but I added extra cheese to thicken. The avocado on top make it great. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This salad is delicious! The first night I made it with the tartine, and it was divine. Then, for a quicker option, I just made the salad. It was perfect for a work pot luck and quick evening meal. The hazelnuts are key, and I made mine with red onions and one package of arugula and one package of baby spinach. I LOVE THIS SALAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I made this as a simple salad- as other reviews did, I didn't use any bread. Also, I used pine nuts as that is what I had on hand. Since I had some feta, I used that instead of the goat cheese. I did make the dressing- which was delicious. I used straight arugula too. I loved this salad! It had great flavor and the beets were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Super Yumm-a-licious! I skipped the tartine (goat cheese is expensive!) and just spread some alouette on water crackers for a side-crunch. This salad makes me want to have ladies over for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This is a 3+ - quite edible, but for all the work just not worth the effort. The bruschetta topping that Trader Joe's sells is better - factor in your time and it's cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Yum, yum, yum. I made this as a starter to our meal. Next time I'm skipping the "dinner" course and eating more of this one. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I left out the tartine and just made the salad, which was very flavorful. I used raw, grated beets; otherwise I followed the salad recipe exactly. The avocados and beets went well together, and the simple dressing was a perfect complement. If you don't want to make the tartine, you can just toss some crumbled goat cheese into the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcmeg12
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Great salad dressing. Some variations: I used regular lettuce, since I didn't have arugula, sunflower seeds that I toasted in the oven while I was making the tartines, and added about a teaspoon of the beet juice to the dressing. I felt the salad lacked texture, so half way through eating, added cucumber slices. Also, I'm not sure the basil is a great compliment of the other flavors. I don't know what would be better, but I was a little turned off by the combination of goat cheese and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Excellent salad! I did not make the tartine, but rather compiled the salad and then crumbled the cheese on top. I also used pecans instead of hazelnuts, and all arugula instead of a mix. The flavor is outstanding-- the sweetness of the beets blends very well with the tartness of the cheese. The avocado and pecans make it rich and decadent. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Was a hit at my dinner party, salad dressing was flavourful yet light and the perfect color combimation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myla
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States