Avocado Baked Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This was delicious! I altered a few things. I used salt and pepper, cilantro and chives, and laid a slice of pepper jack cheese over the top before putting it in the oven. Next time, I won't leave it in the oven for the full 25 minutes, because I like my egg yolk runny, but this was still delicious. I only had half an avocado, but it was a very satisfying lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daphene Morris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Made a few mistakes. Try having the avocado and egg at room temp. Add Shuck and Jive on top of avocado. Use paparika on top. Roasted tomato might be good on top too. Over cooked the egg and should have added hot sauce to the avocado before the egg. My eggs are either really big or my avocados are small, the stick together part of the white would not stay in the avocado even though I hallowed out enough space for it, it just slid out the side, tried to capture it several times and even removed more avocado, no luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by Sav Sabio
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I ended up with was uncooked runny eggs ): I took them out sprinkled cheese over them and took a bite..it wasent edible at all and when my fork broke through the top layer of egg it was STILL runny on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sav Sabio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Fun to try but not worth the energy to heat the oven. Will not mess my pans up again for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia Bentley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Here's the fix! There are a lot of complaints about cooking time and overcooked avocado. Do not cook the egg in the avocado. Poach the egg separately then slip it into the avocado. I added a little salsa into the hole then put the egg on. Much much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Woods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cristine
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This definitely takes more than 15 minutes to cook fully through. I had to set mine for an additional 10 minutes twice (so total 35) but I took it out around 32 mins. I spiced mine w cayenne pepper, salt and pepper only bc I don't eat meat and had limited ingredients in the house. I also used sriracha once it was cooked. It was okay, nothing great. The egg yolk was a bit dry bc it cooked quicker than the whites. I'd maybe make it again and try some different ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Avocados lost their creamy texture and subtle flavor, and I found it to be too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Thought it would taste better. You need to cook for 30 minutes if you don't want runny eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tai Battle
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Really good for breakfast. I baked the avocado and egg with seasonings for 20 mins then added cooked bacon and a bit of cheese for the last 10. Left the chives off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tai Battle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I didn't follow the recipe to the tee but I was more interested with the egg and avocado combination since I have never tried my avocados cooked before. Definitely needed lots of salt to add flavor. I would probably do it again but I definitely like my avocados UN-cooked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States