Avgolemono Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2000
Thank you for providing this wonderful recipe on-line. This brings back treasured memories of my Greek grandmother who always said "katse, katse" for "sit, sit" while she served some of the most wonderful food to her adoring grandchildren. I have all of her recipes for Baklava, Dolmades, and Tsatsiki, but this one I did not have. This was always one of my favorites, and now I will have a chance to share it with my family. I remember her using rice instead of pasta, so I am going to give that a try too...This is a terrific soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2000
Taste's better than what they have at our favorite Greek restaraunts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
This soup recipe sounded kind of strange, but I tried it, and it was sooo good! My father, my father's girlfriend and my boyfriend all loved it. I wrote my grandmother an e-mail telling her that I'd made a good Greek dinner with Greek soup, salad and pasta. She wrote me back telling me about how she had this really great Greek soup once around 30 years ago and she still remembers it and wishes she could find the recipe. Then she described Avgolemono. I told her that I had made just the thing she remembered and I gave her the recipe. This is a recipe really worth trying. It's delicious and it's easy and cheap to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
This is a wonderful tasting soup. Being half Greek myself, my mom was full greek, her mom and dad were from Greece. So I was brought up on this soup and love it tremendously. Fred Favreau
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
This is a delicious soup; everyone that has ever tried it loves it! I usually add bits of chicken to the soup for a hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
Excellent! My mother really loved it since not many foods agree with her these days. Very easy. Next time I will add more orzo and will try it with chicken. Thank you, this will become one of our regular meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
This soup is absolutely delicious. I varied the recipe somewhat by frying an onion and a clove of garlic in a little olive oil in the pan before adding the stock. I also added halved kumquats to the stock when preparing (removed before adding the egg-lemon mixture) to add an even more zesty flavour. To top it off, I added a handful of garden peas when the pasta was tender and a generous sprinkling of fresh parsley to finish. Delicious and highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Great recipe! And very easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Delicious and filling but you can't let it sit out at all. You have to be ready to serve it right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
excellent. My 2 year old neice loves our local greek restaurant's soup and this comes a close second. try it, if you like greek fare than this soup is for you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Avgolemono Soup

Mediterranean chicken soup with rice and lemon juice.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States