Avgolemono Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I live in Greece, so I know how to make this soup. It is a delicious soup when made right. All 3 of my children love it. You must cook a whole, fresh chicken for the stock. DO substitute rice as this is the traditional way. Make sure you remove the soup pot from the flame before you poor the egg/lemon mixture over it. Otherwise, the egg mixture gets clumpy. Also, it is great when you add the chicken meat back into the soup. This is how almost everyone eats it here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
this recipe is all wrong - it's so important to boil a whole chicken for at least an hour or so. the flavor is so much better. also, use the juice of 2 lemons for 3 eggs separate the eggs, beat the whites first till stiff, then slowly add the lemon juice, then add the yolks 1 at a time. I prefer rice to orzo and lots of fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
So yummy, and really versatile! I must admit we tweaked this a bit; the orzo can be substituted for rice or any other type of pasta. And we added a lot of garlic to the bunch. Nonetheless the end result turned out pretty tasty, a nice alternative to chicken or matzo soup when someone in the family gets sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2000
Thank you for providing this wonderful recipe on-line. This brings back treasured memories of my Greek grandmother who always said "katse, katse" for "sit, sit" while she served some of the most wonderful food to her adoring grandchildren. I have all of her recipes for Baklava, Dolmades, and Tsatsiki, but this one I did not have. This was always one of my favorites, and now I will have a chance to share it with my family. I remember her using rice instead of pasta, so I am going to give that a try too...This is a terrific soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Good. Even better with a few tablespoons of white rice that are allowed to cook for a while before adding eggs and lemon. I suspect that those people who tried this and did not like it at all were using a low quality canned chicken broth. Use either a chicken broth in a "parmalat" pack or make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
this is exactly what i was hoping for. we had been wanting to try avgolemono at home after we had it at our favorite greek restaurant. only changes i made to this were i used a full 2 quarts of chicken stock, upped the orzo to a full cup, upped it to 4 eggs, upped to 2 lemons (plus the zest of one lemon, i really wanted the lemon flavor to shine through) and didn't use the cold water. I also added a mirepoix. Sprinkled kosher salt to taste at the end. Very delicious and satisfying on a cold rainy day. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Delicious and filling but you can't let it sit out at all. You have to be ready to serve it right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
This soup is absolutely delicious. I varied the recipe somewhat by frying an onion and a clove of garlic in a little olive oil in the pan before adding the stock. I also added halved kumquats to the stock when preparing (removed before adding the egg-lemon mixture) to add an even more zesty flavour. To top it off, I added a handful of garden peas when the pasta was tender and a generous sprinkling of fresh parsley to finish. Delicious and highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I did add chicken to this (I know, I know - not traditional) and diced carrot as this is the way I've always eaten it. I added a little more orzo to make it heartier. A friend tasted it and said that his Greek Grandmother's was just a HAIR better. I took that as quite the compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
omg...SO delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by velouria3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Avgolemono Soup

Mediterranean chicken soup with rice and lemon juice.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States