Avgolemono Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2000
Excellent! A close match to the comfort food my Greek neighbor made for me when I was a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2000
Thank you for providing this wonderful recipe on-line. This brings back treasured memories of my Greek grandmother who always said "katse, katse" for "sit, sit" while she served some of the most wonderful food to her adoring grandchildren. I have all of her recipes for Baklava, Dolmades, and Tsatsiki, but this one I did not have. This was always one of my favorites, and now I will have a chance to share it with my family. I remember her using rice instead of pasta, so I am going to give that a try too...This is a terrific soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2000
I love Greek food. This soup tastes very close to what you get in a good Greek restaurant. So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2000
Not too shabby. I like to add a couple of extra egg yolks for color, thickness, flavor, etc. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2000
Taste's better than what they have at our favorite Greek restaraunts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
We have made this over, and over... It's a really lovely soup with bread, or buns if you want something light. My kids love it and keep asking for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
Could Be better, but nothing is ever better than the real greek avgolemono!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
This soup recipe sounded kind of strange, but I tried it, and it was sooo good! My father, my father's girlfriend and my boyfriend all loved it. I wrote my grandmother an e-mail telling her that I'd made a good Greek dinner with Greek soup, salad and pasta. She wrote me back telling me about how she had this really great Greek soup once around 30 years ago and she still remembers it and wishes she could find the recipe. Then she described Avgolemono. I told her that I had made just the thing she remembered and I gave her the recipe. This is a recipe really worth trying. It's delicious and it's easy and cheap to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
This is a wonderful tasting soup. Being half Greek myself, my mom was full greek, her mom and dad were from Greece. So I was brought up on this soup and love it tremendously. Fred Favreau
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
This is a delicious soup; everyone that has ever tried it loves it! I usually add bits of chicken to the soup for a hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States