Avgolemono Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
this was a great soup! easy, simple and a great way to use fresh lemons. Though my boyfriend and I have never had this soup before, we loved every bit! I didn't have orzo on hand so i broke up spaghetti as small as I could and we made it vegetarian by using vegetable broth instead of chicken stock. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This was wonderful Michelle! I love soup, I love lemon and I love orzo so this was a great combo for me. I eat fresh spinach every day, so I threw some of that in too. Don't know why anyone would call this soup "bad"; it was far from it. If it contained some exotic ingredients I could understand, but this is basic and absolutely delicious. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Good. Even better with a few tablespoons of white rice that are allowed to cook for a while before adding eggs and lemon. I suspect that those people who tried this and did not like it at all were using a low quality canned chicken broth. Use either a chicken broth in a "parmalat" pack or make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Either I don't appreciate a good avgolemono soup or it's just... bad. We poured the rest of it down the drain, my 1 yr old son took 1 bite and then shook his head about another, and neither my husband nor I just could not stomach eating a whole bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
love this soup. I wasn't sure at first, but WOW great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Great! Quick and easy to make. I added a bit more lemon (I love a strong lemon taste). Really helped clear up my congested nose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Fantastic light flavor, easy preparation. I will add more orzo next time, but only about 1/2 cup more. Superb! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Kueneman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Quick, easy, tasty, and an excellent staple recipe for weeks when your budget is tight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
My family loves this recipe and it's so quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
A Super easy soup to prepare and it really makes you feel better if you are getting a cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Avgolemono Soup

Mediterranean chicken soup with rice and lemon juice.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States