Avgolemono Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
what an easy soup to make- a nice alternative to boring chicken noodle. I made this recipe just how it was listed and even my young children loved this tangy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I live in Greece, so I know how to make this soup. It is a delicious soup when made right. All 3 of my children love it. You must cook a whole, fresh chicken for the stock. DO substitute rice as this is the traditional way. Make sure you remove the soup pot from the flame before you poor the egg/lemon mixture over it. Otherwise, the egg mixture gets clumpy. Also, it is great when you add the chicken meat back into the soup. This is how almost everyone eats it here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
There is nothing wrong with the recipe as is. This is the soup you get when you order it at Greek restaurants. The only place you might get into trouble is in the quality of your ingredients. Buy better chicken stock, get better soup. I mean, heck, I just messed around for the most part-- my eggs didn't even get frothy-- and this still turned out delicious and exactly as I remember from my childhood. Huzzah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I always make this recipe when I, or a loved one gets sick. We greeks call it greek penicillin which it truly is. This is one thing I did not get my grandmother to show me how to make before she passed on. Like any good greek yiayia her recipes were kept in her head, there was no measurments of any kind, you could just feel when it was right. This is the closest recipe online I have found to match up with hers, its perfect in its simplicity becuse thats what most greek food is all about; keeping it simple and tasty. The only change is I use white rice instead of Orzo because thats what she always used. I have a cold today so I am going to go make some right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I'm Greek and I loved it! My husband thought it was his mom's recipe or from one of my many Greek cookbooks. This is the easiest recipe for Greek soup I know. I haven't tried the other two recipes on the site for Avgolemono and won't be because I thought this recipe was very good. update 1/09 I now use four eggs and a bit of cornstarch or flour so that the consistency is better. This way it is lemon soup instead of tasting like lemon water. I also add carrots and sometimes chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Very tasty.....Keep in mind that you must use fresh lemon juice, squeezed from a lemon (not bottled) and high quality chicken stock as that is where the flavor originates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
YUM! A great alternative to 'normal' chicken soup. I added 2 diced chicken breasts, sauteed garlic/onion/carrot, and used basmati rice because we were out of orzo. Would be even better with a splash of white wine mixed in with the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This was a simple, tasty soup. The only change was I added baby penne (pennette)instead of orzo, because I didn't have any orzo handy. My dad thought it was cream-based because it was so silky. He was surprised when I told him it was actually eggs that made it "creamy". I used Swanson's Certified Organic Chicken Broth and it was delicious. Be careful with other organinc broths, though. They are not all made equal. Some can be very bland and even "chemical-ly".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This is so easy to throw together for one when a light meal is in order. The flavor and texture is delightful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
The traditional recipe is made with white rice and the broth from slowly boiling a whole chicken for about 45 minutes, making sure the fat is rendered off the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States