Avgolemono Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I thought this tasted fairly good, considering I chose to make it because I needed to go food shopping. I ended up adding about an extra Tblsp. or so of orzo, because it was the end of the box. I did cook the orzo for 10 minutes, and it was perfectly cooked. In my bowl, I put parsley, a tsp. of butter with canola, and juice from the lemon wedge. The thing I didn't care for, was I thought it was a tad thinner then what I would like. Also, the only ingredients in the soup was the orzo, which wasn't even very much. I think I would have liked a little chicken, celery, or something else. I am not sure what the Greek restaurant by my house adds, but it definitely has a lot less broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Wonderful! Simple and delicious soup, simple and delicious recipe. Your instructions and proportions were perfect. May I suggest a parsley garnish? Looks pretty, tastes lovely, and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Fledgling Basement Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Reminded me of being back in Greek Town in Detroit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I did add chicken to this (I know, I know - not traditional) and diced carrot as this is the way I've always eaten it. I added a little more orzo to make it heartier. A friend tasted it and said that his Greek Grandmother's was just a HAIR better. I took that as quite the compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
omg...SO delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by velouria3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, and when I tasted the finished product, I decided that a bit more broth and 1 cup of orzo would take it to five stars, at least for my taste. I was really happy to find this recipe; thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C IS FOR COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I just made this recipe faithfully following the instructions but adding two lemons instead of one. It was absolulely delicious. I lived in Greece for years this one is authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Being a traditional Greek, this is the best recipe I have found online for Avgolemono. There is no adjusting this recipe. This is a base soup recipe (that can be eaten by it self). When chicken or keftedes are added, you made a different soup. Garlic should never be added and orzo is the only pasta to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was delicious! Exactly what I was looking for on a gloomy fall evening. It reminded me of the time I spent in Greece! I did wish there was a little bit of shredded chicken in it, but all-in-all, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
this is exactly what i was hoping for. we had been wanting to try avgolemono at home after we had it at our favorite greek restaurant. only changes i made to this were i used a full 2 quarts of chicken stock, upped the orzo to a full cup, upped it to 4 eggs, upped to 2 lemons (plus the zest of one lemon, i really wanted the lemon flavor to shine through) and didn't use the cold water. I also added a mirepoix. Sprinkled kosher salt to taste at the end. Very delicious and satisfying on a cold rainy day. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States