Avgolemono Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Absolutely delish! Cooked a whole chicken as some users suggested. Turned out wonderful. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nfreeman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JamieLeeD
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
My YaYa taught me how to make this when I was growing up. I was trying to find a recipe with proportions and this was spot on! The changes I would suggest are: use 1 cup orzo (or rice - I used rice growing up and prefer it); we also used to separate the eggs and whip up the whites until they peak. Then gently fold in the (stirred) yolks and the lemon juice. When that mixture is done (photo attached), add a few cups of the cooked broth and gently fold in. Then you can pour the whole mixture together. Do not heat/cook afterwards or the eggs will clump. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Not bad--I would have like to have more pasta in the soup than the recipe called for, but that's an easy fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
delicious! Oh my goodness, sooo good. I used arborio rice (the kind you use to make risotto). The only thing is, not so good the next day so eat it all up the day you make it (which shouldn't be hard).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I really liked the recipe directions. Explaining all the steps to make the egg turn out was very helpful. I did 1 quart chicken broth, 3/4 quart water to lower the sodium and it was still delicious, albeit a bit lighter. Really enjoy this kind of soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
My family has a slightly diffrent recipe, but this is just as good! I couldn't find the orzo pasta so we used rice, which is a good variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This wasn't traditional. It needs chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Delicious! I made my own chicken broth from scratch and added some chickent to the broth. I also bumped up the orzo to 1 cup as 1/2 cup was not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is a great soup. The first time I made it, I used 2 lemons to the 3 eggs. However, it was very lemony and I love lemon. I'll try it again, but add in more lemon at the end if it needs more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Maybe its not the traditional way of doing things but who cares? It's delicious and as an added bonus, easy to make! 5 stars to the chef, would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States