Autumn Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
So I love to bake, and in the interest of using the buttercup squash I've had with no idea what to do with it, I seen this recipe and thought I'd try it. Like others, I've made a couple alterations myself. I seeded and quartered the squash and baked it in the oven on 350 for about 30 minutes, just till it was soft enough to peel off the skin. Then I cut it in chunks, thru it in my blender (don't have a processor) and added 4 tbls butter, brown sugar and roughly 3 tbls vanilla, pureed it until thick and creamy, poured over apples in the pan (used granny smith's) and used cinnamon toast crunch cereal and blended that into crumbs, poured it over the squash puree, baked and topped it with whip cream. Shared with the neighbors and they brought back an empty pan and asked for the recipe. Good idea to use a squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Sharp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I used butternut squash, cubed apples and squash and simmered together in a deep skillet until tender, then drained and added butter and used brown sugar instead of white as I was out of white sugar, and brought back to a boil. I did not purée squash due to limited time. I then placed mixture in baking dish. For topping, I didn't have corn flakes on hand so I used Post Great Grains with raisins, dates and pecans and blended with softened butter and brown sugar. Wonderful! I will make this at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very good! My family was a bit uncertain when they heard it had squash in it, but the dish was almost empty when dinner was over! The only things I did different was I used honey nut cherrios in place of cornflakes because that was what I had, and I didn't use the pecans because I didn't have any, but next time I will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made this for a church potluck, but didn't do the apples, because it was a last minute decision and I didn't have any. Everyone loved it, and I got lots of requests for the recipe. I'd make it again for sure. maybe next time I'll actually think ahead and buy apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
LOVED this recipe! Served it at our Canadian Thanksgiving celebration and it was a hit. I followed the recipe to a T, including the boiled squash. Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Awesome, could be used in place of sweet pots. I did add about 1/8 tsp cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Had buttercup squash in my CSA box and since I'd been inundated with squash, I wanted to try something other than baking/roasting or making a quick bread. Took this to Thanksgiving dinner and boy, did it go fast! Everyone LOVED it. I ended up using buttercup and acorn squash in this and I diced the apples rather than sliced, but otherwise followed the recipe. So good! Passed the recipe on to everyone there! Thank you so much for sharing. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I made this last night as a "rehearsal" for Thanksgiving. My husband and I loved it!! I did add about two tablespoons more of the brown sugar and I cubed the apples. It was easy to make and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Made this over the Christmas holidays and it was definitely a favorite among squash lovers. Next time, though I'd cut the apples into smaller pieces. The topping was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Took this for thanksgiving and most of it was still left afterward. Make sure that you completely puree the squash, I used my food processor and it was still not pureed enough. It had a very odd texture that was hard to get over. I would also cut the squash amount down to 2lbs as the flavor was almost overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States