Autumn Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is so easy and delicious! I adjusted the amount of topping to fit the pan I used for baking. Also, I accidentally used the wrong type of squash (butternut). But wow it was tasty. Will definitely make for a holiday dish or possibly to use up squash in the future. Also, if I had more squash I would have layered it - some apples, squash, topping, apples, squash, topping. Mmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This recipe was wonderful as it stands. The only thing different I did was use Butternut squash instead of Buttercup only because it was what I had bought. I served it for Thanksgiving Dinner and everyone had two helpings, some had three!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warsaw, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I just ran across the recipe again and wanted to review it :) I made it last year for Thanksgiving, it was so good, everyone loved it! I added dried cranberries in with my apple mixture, only because I like the tart taste. Very good, give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This is wonderful! Of the 8 dishes served to 12 people, this won the prize! I used butternut squash and followed the recipe with no changes. Unbelievably good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally in NH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
LOVED this recipe! We have so many squash from our garden so I've been experimenting. This one is going to Thanksgiving for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Wow this is amazing! I was a little skeptical but the other reviews convinced me to try it. I used butternut squash, gala apples and instead of butter I used the best life spread made with olive oil. The only thing I had to change was the topping because my family is not a big fan of any type of nut. I was also out of cornflake cereal so I had to improvise. I used 1 cup of rice crispies, 1/2 cup brown sugar (but could have probably used less) and 2 tbsp melted butter. I mixed it all together and sprinkled it on top, delicious! My EXTREMELY picky 2 year old even likes it, thank you for such a wonderful recipe! I will probably make a big batch for Thanksgiving too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I served this to 15 people and everybody loved it. I used butternut squash ( couldn't find buttercup). I used Jonagold apples and reduced the white sugar to 1/8 cup. I also reduced the brown sugar in the topping to 1/3 cup. I cooked and mashed the squash the day before so it was very quick to prepare. Thanks for a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit...even with the kids! I also used butternut squash as I have never heard of buttercup. Next time, I'm going to try using frozen butternut squash in order to save some prep time. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This is a great side dish. The only thing I will do next time is to cut the apple pieces into smaller pieces. I sliced the apples pretty thin, but the slices were just big enough to make serving awkward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Delicious! I used butternut squash that was already cubed to make it easier on myself and I cut the recipe in half to serve four people. It was wonderful-could have been a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States