Autumn Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Yummy! I made this for Thanksgiving and had a request to make it for Christmas too. Liked by everybody. At Thanksgiving, I made it with buttercup squash (looks like a smal green & orange pumpkin), but it was VERY difficult to peel even after microwaving for 5min. Probably the easiest way to use the buttercup squash would be to cut in half, scoop out seeds, bake for about an hour at 350 degrees, then scoop out the squash and then prepare as the recipe says. For Christmas, I used butternut squash and it was much easier to prepare and just as delicious. I used a mix of apples including macintosh and cut them up into small wedges (not sliced or diced). For topping I used Special K with cinnamon and pecans for the cereal. Lastly, I put everything in the crockpot instead of baking and kept on low until ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethissite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
good! but...it needs more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
My brother-in-law who will eat no vegetables, actually asked for seconds on this one. It was truly more like a dessert than a vegetable side-dish. It was really spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Wonderful!! Even my kids ate it. Next time I will dice the apples instead of slicing. And will mix in. Some spoonfuls did not get down to the apples on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Absolutely awesome! The whole family loved it! Squash is hard to peel (this was my 1st time) & the only way I found to make it any easier was to have my husband cut it into small pieces and then I peeled them. I put it together the night before, but didn't cook it until about an hour before the event. It came out awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Best ever, has become a thanksgiving staple and special treat throughout the year, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Awesome! I made this for a holiday potluck recently and it was a BIG hit. At least 5 people asked me for the recipe and it was one of the only dishes to go home completely clean. I did, however, make a few minor additions to the recipe. 1) Added 1 teaspoon of fresh minced ginger to the squash mash along with a sprinkling of pumpkin pie spice. 2) Added a generous sprinkling (maybe 1/4 tsp) salt to the cornflake/butter/sugar crunch topping. Delicious! This just moved into definite go-to holiday side dish. Fantastic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Awesome! Hand-sliced apples were a little too thick, so next time I will use the mandoline to get thin slices, then cut them in half. Family LOVED it, and it will be added to the holiday recipe list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marrero, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I read a lot of reviews saying that even if you don't like squash you'll like it in this recipe. Well, I found that not to be true. I found the squash to be overpowering. I would make this again but i'd add more apples to even out the squash. The cornflake, pecan topping is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Ridiculous amounts of butter. Could be cut at least in half. Other than that - good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSFROSTY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States