Autumn Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
good! but...it needs more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
My brother-in-law who will eat no vegetables, actually asked for seconds on this one. It was truly more like a dessert than a vegetable side-dish. It was really spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Wonderful!! Even my kids ate it. Next time I will dice the apples instead of slicing. And will mix in. Some spoonfuls did not get down to the apples on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Absolutely awesome! The whole family loved it! Squash is hard to peel (this was my 1st time) & the only way I found to make it any easier was to have my husband cut it into small pieces and then I peeled them. I put it together the night before, but didn't cook it until about an hour before the event. It came out awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Best ever, has become a thanksgiving staple and special treat throughout the year, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Awesome! I made this for a holiday potluck recently and it was a BIG hit. At least 5 people asked me for the recipe and it was one of the only dishes to go home completely clean. I did, however, make a few minor additions to the recipe. 1) Added 1 teaspoon of fresh minced ginger to the squash mash along with a sprinkling of pumpkin pie spice. 2) Added a generous sprinkling (maybe 1/4 tsp) salt to the cornflake/butter/sugar crunch topping. Delicious! This just moved into definite go-to holiday side dish. Fantastic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Awesome! Hand-sliced apples were a little too thick, so next time I will use the mandoline to get thin slices, then cut them in half. Family LOVED it, and it will be added to the holiday recipe list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marrero, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I read a lot of reviews saying that even if you don't like squash you'll like it in this recipe. Well, I found that not to be true. I found the squash to be overpowering. I would make this again but i'd add more apples to even out the squash. The cornflake, pecan topping is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Ridiculous amounts of butter. Could be cut at least in half. Other than that - good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSFROSTY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This is a great side dish. The only thing I will do next time is to cut the apple pieces into smaller pieces. I sliced the apples pretty thin, but the slices were just big enough to make serving awkward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States